Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Best Gaming Modems [Opinions]

compatible modem modem high ping lag jitter intel puma arris surfboard

  • Please log in to reply
310 replies to this topic

#181
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,987 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM

I was also wondering if this list that has been compiled is supported or endorsed by the NetDuma engineering team etc.  If it is then maybe NetDuma should have a disclaimer when buying R1 router to purchase a specific modem etc. 

 

It's a list that was made by me, of modems I've personally and painstakingly tested to ensure that they will work flawlessly with every feature of the the Netduma. Unfortunately it has turned into a pissing contest of people assuming every modem works, just because they never tried a different modem to see the difference. Good luck.


Posted Image


Posted Image


#182
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 AM
  • LocationUSA

Kind of hard to say that since you haven't tested modems on other ISPs either huh? Not a pissing contest. Were just stating that some of us have good experiences with the R1 and the supposed incompatible modems that seem to work just fine for some of us is all. Enjoy what works is all.



#183
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,987 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM

Kind of hard to say that since you haven't tested modems on other ISPs either huh?


I have though. Multiple different modems with multiple setups, speed plans and locations throughout the country. Only the modems on the confirmed working list are ones that work under ALL conditions. Which I have meticulous gone through trying each individual setting and option to purposely break things.

For example, a SB6141 SEEMS to work fine. Until you enable super turbo mode. But I really don't have to explain myself to you. If I said the sky was blue you would try to argue differently.

Have YOU used any other modem besides the SB6183? No.
Posted Image


Posted Image


#184
II N3MES1S II

II N3MES1S II

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Local time: 06:08 AM
  • LocationCalifornia

I have though. Multiple different modems with multiple setups, speed plans and locations throughout the country. Only the modems on the confirmed working list are ones that work under ALL conditions. Which I have meticulous gone through trying each individual setting and option to purposely break things.

For example, a SB6141 SEEMS to work fine. Until you enable super turbo mode. But I really don't have to explain myself to you. If I said the sky was blue you would try to argue differently.

Have YOU used any other modem besides the SB6183? No.

 

 

Well if you dont have the time to explain to him, how about explain to me how the Arris SB6190 is incompatible with the netduma?

What things break on the netduma while using the 6190?

 

I know how to use netduma and all features work while using the 6190.

 

So please inlighten me with the details you uncovered while testing the netduma using the 6190.



#185
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,987 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM

Well if you dont have the time to explain to him, how about explain to me how the Arris SB6190 is incompatible with the netduma?
What things break on the netduma while using the 6190?

I know how to use netduma and all features work while using the 6190.

So please inlighten me with the details you uncovered while testing the netduma using the 6190.


No need to test the SB6190 as it has an intel puma 6 chipset and every modem with that chip completely destroys your ping. (I've tested other modems with a Puma 6 chip)

I don't care what kind of software patches and fixes they implemented, software can't fix a hardware problem. You can only put a bandaid on the issue.

Do you really want to play time sensitive games on a modem that is part of a lawsuit for using faulty hardware and selling it to millions of customers? Especially when you can use literally any other modem and get better results.

https://www.theregis...t_firmware_fix/
Posted Image


Posted Image


#186
II N3MES1S II

II N3MES1S II

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Local time: 06:08 AM
  • LocationCalifornia

No need to test the SB6190 as it has an intel puma 6 chipset and every modem with that chip completely destroys your ping. (I've tested other modems with a Puma 6 chip)

I don't care what kind of software patches and fixes they implemented, software can't fix a hardware problem. You can only put a bandaid on the issue.

Do you really want to play time sensitive games on a modem that is part of a lawsuit for using faulty hardware and selling it to millions of customers? Especially when you can use literally any other modem and get better results.

https://www.theregis...t_firmware_fix/

 

 

 

Would you like me to show you video of the 6190 playing infinite warfare with 15ms lobbies?

 

Oh and never has a match skipped, jumped or hopped for me either.



#187
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,987 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM

Would you like me to show you video of the 6190 playing infinite warfare with 15ms lobbies?

 

Oh and never has a match skipped, jumped or hopped for me either.

 

First, it's infinite warfare... You have not done a ping test.

 

Second, you've proven my point right here:

 

gM-PQzCGRFinVSIOfBXz-g.png

 

And when I actually look at the links to those specific tests, the results are scary...

 

TlDnTbFPSkGteEJtt9b6aA.png

 

What annoys me is that instead of a nice clean organized list of modems that clearly work and do not work well for the best possible gaming experience, new people see this 10 page long pissing contest of people who are making claims without having actually tested any other modems or gone through and tested every combination of settings/setups. Those new people come here and see this nonsense and don't know what to think. "Why is one person saying my modem doesn't work, but someone else is saying it works fine?"

 

But hey, I'm not here to convince you or anyone else to buy a different modem. If you think you're happy, and you think that everything works fine for you then good for you! But I know I too once thought my setup was fine... Until I wasn't stubborn and bought a $30 modem to make a world of difference to me, and make my gaming experience that much better. The same goes for many others who simply accepted my knowledge and made a small investment for a new modem which resulted in a better quality of life.

 

I can go on and on, but again, if I say the sky is blue people will say no it's not. This is how the internet works, and quite frankly I do not care. My goal on this forum is not to troll people and tell people they are wrong. But as a general rule, I live life by not opening my mouth to talk about something unless I know what I'm talking about... this is one of those times.


Posted Image


Posted Image


#188
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 AM
  • LocationUSA

SB 6120, 6121 and 6180. All work well with the R1 with my ISP. I'm looking into getting a Motorola MB series next. 

 

Even though you claim to have tested all modems, I highly doubt you can test all modems with the R1 on all ISP services. Each ISP is a bit different in there services. 

 

Not here either to claim only one specific modem works, however in recent posts you have trolled and seem overly biased against people who claim other modems DO work. Even against me and you continue too. Thought people say there modems work and you don't seem to believe them, maybe the sky is blue and there speaking the truth. Why not accept them or what they say. Were all there to gain knowledge and express our experiences, not pass doubt or lie about things. Maybe those modems do work and are working. Why is that hard to believe huh? 

 

It would be in NetDumas best interest to make sure ALL or as many modems work well with there R1 modem as possible, not just one or a few. Again, not all ISP services support all modems or your TPLink modems which you seem to favor and push on others. Of course if the ISP supports it, of course, try it. However if users are seeing good experiences with what you claims doesn't work well with there R1, then doesn't mean any else accept that it's working for them. Users of the R1 shouldn't have to try other modems to get good experiences with the R1. Your list is misleading and inaccurate. It should reflect what works best with the R1 in your experiences however other modems will work and depending upon ISP services, bandwidth usage, cabling, signal and line quality and router configuration can and will effect how the modem, R1 and gaming experiences are seen. Also other modems could be recommended for ISPs that don't seem to support your favorite modem Mfr. 

 

The list would be also out of date as time goes on, the last time you supposedly tested the modems, new FW version have probably been released and may have improved how the modems work with the R1, or could have made it works as well. Have you tested ALL modems again across all ISP? LOL I doubt it. 

 

Over all, you could be a little less biased and be a bit more encouraging with people who post there experiences with other modems besides TPLink and regardless of what modem they are using. As time goes on, 8x4 and 16x4 modems will be going away and DOCSIS 3.1 will be the norm, things will be changing as well as the R1 and there OS which we are patiently waiting for. 

 

I have though. Multiple different modems with multiple setups, speed plans and locations throughout the country. Only the modems on the confirmed working list are ones that work under ALL conditions. Which I have meticulous gone through trying each individual setting and option to purposely break things.

For example, a SB6141 SEEMS to work fine. Until you enable super turbo mode. But I really don't have to explain myself to you. If I said the sky was blue you would try to argue differently.

Have YOU used any other modem besides the SB6183? No.



#189
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 AM
  • LocationUSA

You should look at the dates of the dslreports results are over a year old and maybe different now. 

First, it's infinite warfare... You have not done a ping test.

 

Second, you've proven my point right here:

 

gM-PQzCGRFinVSIOfBXz-g.png

 

And when I actually look at the links to those specific tests, the results are scary...

 

TlDnTbFPSkGteEJtt9b6aA.png

 

What annoys me is that instead of a nice clean organized list of modems that clearly work and do not work well for the best possible gaming experience, new people see this 10 page long pissing contest of people who are making claims without having actually tested any other modems or gone through and tested every combination of settings/setups. Those new people come here and see this nonsense and don't know what to think. "Why is one person saying my modem doesn't work, but someone else is saying it works fine?"

 

But hey, I'm not here to convince you or anyone else to buy a different modem. If you think you're happy, and you think that everything works fine for you then good for you! But I know I too once thought my setup was fine... Until I wasn't stubborn and bought a $30 modem to make a world of difference to me, and make my gaming experience that much better. The same goes for many others who simply accepted my knowledge and made a small investment for a new modem which resulted in a better quality of life.

 

I can go on and on, but again, if I say the sky is blue people will say no it's not. This is how the internet works, and quite frankly I do not care. My goal on this forum is not to troll people and tell people they are wrong. But as a general rule, I live life by not opening my mouth to talk about something unless I know what I'm talking about... this is one of those times.



#190
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,987 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM

SB 6120, 6121 and 6180. All work well with the R1 with my ISP. I'm looking into getting a Motorola MB series next. 

 

Even though you claim to have tested all modems, I highly doubt you can test all modems with the R1 on all ISP services. Each ISP is a bit different in there services. 

 

Not here either to claim only one specific modem works, however in recent posts you have trolled and seem overly biased against people who claim other modems DO work. Even against me and you continue too. Thought people say there modems work and you don't seem to believe them, maybe the sky is blue and there speaking the truth. Why not accept them or what they say. Were all there to gain knowledge and express our experiences, not pass doubt or lie about things. Maybe those modems do work and are working. Why is that hard to believe huh? 

 

It would be in NetDumas best interest to make sure ALL or as many modems work well with there R1 modem as possible, not just one or a few. Again, not all ISP services support all modems or your TPLink modems which you seem to favor and push on others. Of course if the ISP supports it, of course, try it. However if users are seeing good experiences with what you claims doesn't work well with there R1, then doesn't mean any else accept that it's working for them. Users of the R1 shouldn't have to try other modems to get good experiences with the R1. Your list is misleading and inaccurate. It should reflect what works best with the R1 in your experiences however other modems will work and depending upon ISP services, bandwidth usage, cabling, signal and line quality and router configuration can and will effect how the modem, R1 and gaming experiences are seen. Also other modems could be recommended for ISPs that don't seem to support your favorite modem Mfr. 

 

The list would be also out of date as time goes on, the last time you supposedly tested the modems, new FW version have probably been released and may have improved how the modems work with the R1, or could have made it works as well. Have you tested ALL modems again across all ISP? LOL I doubt it. 

 

Over all, you could be a little less biased and be a bit more encouraging with people who post there experiences with other modems besides TPLink and regardless of what modem they are using. As time goes on, 8x4 and 16x4 modems will be going away and DOCSIS 3.1 will be the norm, things will be changing as well as the R1 and there OS which we are patiently waiting for. 

 

Obviously I know nothing.


Posted Image


Posted Image


#191
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 AM
  • LocationUSA

Not claiming you "know nothing". Just saying, you could be a little bit more accepting of others and what they say regardless of modems they maybe using. Were all here to help each other and help Duma as well. 



#192
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,987 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM

Not claiming you "know nothing". Just saying, you could be a little bit more accepting of others and what they say regardless of modems they maybe using. Were all here to help each other and help Duma as well. 

 

There are only 3 people here who claim that their Arris modems work fine. You are one of them... Everyone else who switched off an Arris modem has commented on how amazing the new modem is working for them. You haven't used anything except for Arris. That's like saying "I only buy Nike shoes because they are the best!" Well, have you tried any other brand? "No but they are the best, I know it."

 

Also, the TP-Link TC-7610 works on every major cable ISP in the USA. So your argument about needing something that is compatible with a different ISP is invalid. It goes up to 340 Mbps+ which is faster than any cable internet.

 

Looking back at XSXS "tests" I found other flaws in his testing which I didn't want to bring up, but since you mentioned him I will. As I previously stated, he is using splitters and attenuators to balance his signal. That's like putting square tires on your car because it goes too fast... Besides that, you can clearly see in his "test" screenshots that he isn't even pinging a reliable IP (Google DNS), let alone the same IP (One is IPv4 and the other is IPv6). So of course it will give different results, plus it's at different times of the day.

 

Bottom line is this. If you want the BEST possible gaming experience on ANY router with ANY cable ISP in the USA, then the TP-Link TC-7610 is one of the very few modems which offer that. Regardless if you believe it or not... That's not my problem. I'm not here to convince people who are stubborn and insist on something yet they haven't tested it themselves. If you think that your Arris modem works fine for you, then good for you. I'll be here enjoying this:

 

C_NDKlaOQyWoXzE_ZwVyEA.png

 

That's 2ms jitter on a congested, oversold, cable ISP.


Posted Image


Posted Image


#193
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 AM
  • LocationUSA

Armstrong ISP doesn't support TPLink. Again, not all ISPs support TPLink. Most Do. Just saying.

 

Your test is on Comcast, doesn't apply to other ISPs. Could be same, better or worse. 

 

Not saying that users shouldn't use TPLink. Saying that other modems work and work well with other ISP as well. 



#194
II N3MES1S II

II N3MES1S II

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Local time: 06:08 AM
  • LocationCalifornia

First, it's infinite warfare... You have not done a ping test.

 

Second, you've proven my point right here:

 

gM-PQzCGRFinVSIOfBXz-g.png

 

And when I actually look at the links to those specific tests, the results are scary...

 

TlDnTbFPSkGteEJtt9b6aA.png

 

What annoys me is that instead of a nice clean organized list of modems that clearly work and do not work well for the best possible gaming experience, new people see this 10 page long pissing contest of people who are making claims without having actually tested any other modems or gone through and tested every combination of settings/setups. Those new people come here and see this nonsense and don't know what to think. "Why is one person saying my modem doesn't work, but someone else is saying it works fine?"

 

But hey, I'm not here to convince you or anyone else to buy a different modem. If you think you're happy, and you think that everything works fine for you then good for you! But I know I too once thought my setup was fine... Until I wasn't stubborn and bought a $30 modem to make a world of difference to me, and make my gaming experience that much better. The same goes for many others who simply accepted my knowledge and made a small investment for a new modem which resulted in a better quality of life.

 

I can go on and on, but again, if I say the sky is blue people will say no it's not. This is how the internet works, and quite frankly I do not care. My goal on this forum is not to troll people and tell people they are wrong. But as a general rule, I live life by not opening my mouth to talk about something unless I know what I'm talking about... this is one of those times.

 

 

Everyone talks crap about infinite warfare simply because they get owned.

 

I have done ping test, all kinds of ping tests. I'm not just buying expensive modems and routers to slap them on and not study them. (I use pingplotter too)

 

The modems I will mention are just what I tested with since I owned the netduma.

 

Motorola SB6121 with TWC in the high desert and in Los Angeles ( Both homes have just internet with no splitters and all lines terminated but the one going to modem.

Netgear C3000 with TWC in the high desert. ( same line condition)

Arris SB6190 with TWC/SPECTRUM in the high desert and in Los Angeles (same line condition)

 

I watch my ping when I play Infinite Warfare so yea, its mostly a 15ms lobby. 

 

I wouldnt be looking at my old DSLR to judge how the 6190 doesnt work with the netduma. ( you know I am adjusting the C.C. for a good bufferbloat grade right?)

 

You have to listen to your own words here, by you saying certain modems dont work with the netduma, then those with those modems might not buy the netduma.

 

You are hurting the netduma company and not even knowing it. 

 

I will  do a few DSLR tests with different C.C. and post them if you would like to see my ping as of right now in Los Angeles with SPECTRUM.



#195
II N3MES1S II

II N3MES1S II

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Local time: 06:08 AM
  • LocationCalifornia

18273067.png 100% bandwidth no C.C. the package I pay for is 60mbps download.

 

 

 
18273339.png Now with C.C. @ 70%/70%
 
18273897.png Now with C.C. @ 50%/50%
 
18274286.png Now with C.C. @ 25%/25%
 
Do you noticed the bufferbloat grade? Oh and check out that ping.


#196
thegaurdian1

thegaurdian1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM
  • LocationHaverhill, MA

 

18273067.png 100% bandwidth no C.C. the package I pay for is 60mbps download.

 

 

 
18273339.png Now with C.C. @ 70%/70%
 
18273897.png Now with C.C. @ 50%/50%
 
Do you noticed the bufferbloat grade? Oh and check out that ping.

 

How do I post images and tests results on here or through the messages system in this forum?


5766536523.png5661499.png


#197
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Local time: 07:08 AM
  • LocationUSA

I think you have to add pictures to the Managed Attachments under your profile...



#198
XSXS

XSXS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 394 posts
  • Local time: 06:08 AM
  • LocationAZ

Looking back at XSXS "tests" I found other flaws in his testing which I didn't want to bring up, but since you mentioned him I will. As I previously stated, he is using splitters and attenuators to balance his signal. That's like putting square tires on your car because it goes too fast... Besides that, you can clearly see in his "test" screenshots that he isn't even pinging a reliable IP (Google DNS), let alone the same IP (One is IPv4 and the other is IPv6). So of course it will give different results, plus it's at different times of the day.

I thought I was done replying to you in this thread but since you mentioned my tests, I will have to educate you again since talking to you is like talking to a brick wall.  Here are the facts with my testing on the 7610.

  1. I had an actual Cox tech come out and verify my lines prior to testing it. I was watching him and talking with him the whole time. Meaning my lines are good!
  2. My line quality is good enough to hand a -3.5dB splitter, so that argument is invalid for you.
  3. I only used the return path attentuator on the Cisco modem, never used it with the 7610.  My upstream power levels with no attenuation was around 38-39 dbmv.  The sweet spot for cox is 42-45. 
  4. I pinged google.com which from my experience is more consistent in pings than google DNS 8.8.8.8.
  5. I use both Ipv4 and ipv6 so both those screen shots are showing how the 7610 pinged using both protocols.
  6. I also posted a screen shot of the 7610 modem levels which are perfectly acceptable even with a splitter installed.

At least I informed everyone how exactly I tested the 7610.  You have no data, dates, or how you tested each modem with the R1.  Where is the ping plotter charts for all the other modems that don't work with the R1?

How long did you "painstakingly" test each modem? 

 

It also sounds like deadpool is not having that great of luck with the 7610 anymore and he uses the same ISP as me.  "must be the lines: even though other modems work?...



#199
AnnonymouS

AnnonymouS

    Senior Member

  • Clubhouse Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM

I thought I was done replying to you in this thread but since you mentioned my tests, I will have to educate you again since talking to you is like talking to a brick wall.  Here are the facts with my testing on the 7610.

  1. I had an actual Cox tech come out and verify my lines prior to testing it. I was watching him and talking with him the whole time. Meaning my lines are good!
  2. My line quality is good enough to hand a -3.5dB splitter, so that argument is invalid for you.
  3. I only used the return path attentuator on the Cisco modem, never used it with the 7610.  My upstream power levels with no attenuation was around 38-39 dbmv.  The sweet spot for cox is 42-45. 
  4. I pinged google.com which from my experience is more consistent in pings than google DNS 8.8.8.8.
  5. I use both Ipv4 and ipv6 so both those screen shots are showing how the 7610 pinged using both protocols.
  6. I also posted a screen shot of the 7610 modem levels which are perfectly acceptable even with a splitter installed.

At least I informed everyone how exactly I tested the 7610.  You have no data, dates, or how you tested each modem with the R1.  Where is the ping plotter charts for all the other modems that don't work with the R1?

How long did you "painstakingly" test each modem? 

 

It also sounds like deadpool is not having that great of luck with the 7610 anymore and he uses the same ISP as me.  "must be the lines: even though other modems work?...

where is your data?  I Am MoD BoX is trying to help. cut him a break.



#200
thegaurdian1

thegaurdian1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Local time: 09:08 AM
  • LocationHaverhill, MA

Hi All,

 

     Please let me know what you think of these test results.  Also let me know what I need to do if anything to make things better etc.  

Test was done with Modem Arris SB6183 MODEM connected directly via Ethernet cable to PC.  I have Coax cable going from wall into a splitter and from there i have coax going into modem, tv etc.  All images have names hopefully it shows up in the forum correctly.  I am sure most of you will know better than I what each test is, does and so on.  I have images of my Downstream channels and upstream channels I can post that and I have images of my LOG from the MODEM.  I can post all that as well as long as any of these postings do not create a security risk for me.  I feel like something is going on be it with my ISP or Modem or Router.  I have Netduma R1 router but for this test NO router was used I also have Nighthawk X6 (R8000) router.

 

SIDE NOTE: I did have speed tests but i accidentally deleted THEM! Speed tests particularly for upstream speed was fine but the dsl reports showed red graph and the red line in the middle extending up.  I will provide that soon if necessary.  I'm just looking for information, help and education on all this :D.  

 

Thank you ALL!

Attached Files


5766536523.png5661499.png






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: compatible modem, modem, high ping, lag, jitter, intel puma, arris, surfboard

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users