Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Slow GUI Interface: the solution is HERE!

slow interface gui port forwarding

  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

*
POPULAR

Hi everyone,

 

after a lots of researchs and thoughts, i've found a solution to "delete" the slow GUI problem (slow interface when rules in port forwarding are active).

I said "delete" because it's not permanent but you have to complete 2 simple things to avoid that issue.

 

 

TESTS

 

For the moment, i will explain how i found my solution (the console need to be lauchned after you've activated specific options for each test):

 

1) Host filtering ON / Port forwarding ON / Hyper-lane OFF = no issue

 

2) Host filtering OFF / Port forwarding ON / Hyper-lane ON = no issue

 

3) Host filtering ON / Port forwarding OFF / Hyper-lane ON = no issue

 

4) Host filtering ON / Port forwarding ON / Hyper-lane ON = slow interface

 

5) Host filtering ON / UPNP OFF / Hyper-lane ON = no issue

 

6) Host filtering ON / UPNP ON / Hyper-lane ON = no issue

 

After those tests, we can deduce that there is an issue between host filtering and the port forwarding while hyper-lane is active.

 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

SOLUTION

 

This is the best solution i found for the moment (with Host filtering / Port forwarding / Hyper-lane active) :

 

1) Disable the host filtering

 

2) Launch your console

 

3) Let your console run to the main menu

 

4) Enable the host filtering

 

5) Enjoy  :D

 

After you've finished your gaming session, don't forget to disable the host filtering for the next time.

 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

CONCLUSION

 

 

As i can read in a lots of threads in the forum, there is still some bugs on the actual firmware but we can find solution ourselves and find the best way to use our router.

If you have any questions about this, just let me now.

 

It was Chive, peace out DUMA ARMY!


“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#2
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,306 posts
  • Local time: 05:13 PM
  • LocationUK

I turn off UPnP & UPnP forwarding unticked in misc settings while using port forwarding then you can do as you like with hyper lane and the geo-filter.



#3
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

I turn off UPnP & UPnP forwarding unticked in misc settings while using port forwarding then you can do as you like with hyper lane and the geo-filter.

I don't use UPNP when the port forwarding rules are active i don't want to use it either (i just want to open ports for gaming and not for any other application).

 

As i said, me and other people (not everyone and i don't konw why) can't use port forwarding while host filtering and hyper-lane are active).


“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#4
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,306 posts
  • Local time: 05:13 PM
  • LocationUK

I did the above, turned off UPnP in my 7800n then rebooted both routers 7800n first waited 2 mins then booted the duma, no slow down issues using the geo and hyper lane.



#5
RoyDavis77

RoyDavis77

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Local time: 05:13 PM
  • LocationSouthend-On-Sea Uk

I found that if you set up port forwarding then reboot the netduma, the slow gui goes, ive not had a problem with it since, thats with geo-filtering,  port forwarding and hyper lane all active :)



#6
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

I did the above, turned off UPnP in my 7800n then rebooted both routers 7800n first waited 2 mins then booted the duma, no slow down issues using the geo and hyper lane.


I don't understand why you put upnp on your main router.
It works for you now ?

“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#7
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

I found that if you set up port forwarding then reboot the netduma, the slow gui goes, ive not had a problem with it since, thats with geo-filtering, port forwarding and hyper lane all active :)

Why do you need to reboot your netduma ?
Does it works for you now ?

“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#8
RoyDavis77

RoyDavis77

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Local time: 05:13 PM
  • LocationSouthend-On-Sea Uk

Yes it works now, after setting port forwarding for call of duty the netduma gui would gradualy grind to a halt, couldnt access anything, just forever loading interface page, i tried rebooting after setting port forwarding to see what would happen and the netduma gui stayed responsive, i havent had any problems since, hth :)



#9
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

Yes it works now, after setting port forwarding for call of duty the netduma gui would gradualy grind to a halt, couldnt access anything, just forever loading interface page, i tried rebooting after setting port forwarding to see what would happen and the netduma gui stayed responsive, i havent had any problems since, hth :)

Cool, i'm glad it works for you  :D


“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#10
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany

my gui is still slow, can someone help?



#11
unixadmin

unixadmin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM

I use Host Filtering, Hyper-Lane, Port Forwarding (5 ports above 65000) and UPnP all at the same time on v1.03.6h.

 

Uptime is some 2 months now without any slowing down of the interface.

 

There is one exception to this and it's the Host Filtering page which is slow because drawing the map is bound to a single CPU core. My system has no hardware acceleration available to let the graphics card handle it and even if your Windows does have it if you use Firefox you could still see worse performance than with another browser. Enabling the "Low Resolution Map" feature helps, it's the browser that's slow not Neduma here.

 

Games like Destiny and CoD claim 30 or more ports have to be forwarded for them to "work properly". Maybe Netduma slowing down on pages other than Host Filtering is proportionate to the number of forwarded ports? Only 5 ports on mine don't seem to have any impact, but I never tried adding >30 forwarding rules. 



#12
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany

nothing can fix it for me, and we have to wait 1 year for a possible fix wtf



#13
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 1,337 posts
  • Local time: 05:13 PM

nothing can fix it for me, and we have to wait 1 year for a possible fix wtf

 

DumaOS isn't going to be released a year from now, it's much sooner than that. We can help you to fix this problem, I've seen that you've made a thread about this previously and it wasn't resolved, so please make a post on the 1 on 1 section and we'll take a much closer look at the problem. Whilst it might seem like a common problem on this forum, in terms of people using the router it's very rare - and we've had success resolving it with other people. I'm confident we'll get it fixed in a 1 on 1 :)

 

I use Host Filtering, Hyper-Lane, Port Forwarding (5 ports above 65000) and UPnP all at the same time on v1.03.6h.

 

Uptime is some 2 months now without any slowing down of the interface.

 

There is one exception to this and it's the Host Filtering page which is slow because drawing the map is bound to a single CPU core. My system has no hardware acceleration available to let the graphics card handle it and even if your Windows does have it if you use Firefox you could still see worse performance than with another browser. Enabling the "Low Resolution Map" feature helps, it's the browser that's slow not Neduma here.

 

Games like Destiny and CoD claim 30 or more ports have to be forwarded for them to "work properly". Maybe Netduma slowing down on pages other than Host Filtering is proportionate to the number of forwarded ports? Only 5 ports on mine don't seem to have any impact, but I never tried adding >30 forwarding rules. 

 

The problem is definitely port-related, we're trying to get to the bottom of it but I'm glad you haven't encountered it yet. As I said above, the problem is a rare one; loads of Netduma users use port forwarding, UPnP and hyper traffic without any issues.


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#14
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

DumaOS isn't going to be released a year from now, it's much sooner than that. We can help you to fix this problem, I've seen that you've made a thread about this previously and it wasn't resolved, so please make a post on the 1 on 1 section and we'll take a much closer look at the problem. Whilst it might seem like a common problem on this forum, in terms of people using the router it's very rare - and we've had success resolving it with other people. I'm confident we'll get it fixed in a 1 on 1 :)

 

 

The problem is definitely port-related, we're trying to get to the bottom of it but I'm glad you haven't encountered it yet. As I said above, the problem is a rare one; loads of Netduma users use port forwarding, UPnP and hyper traffic without any issues.

Yes, it's an issue but with a little bit of research, you can avoid it simply and, bloody hell, the connection is so smooth and crispy  :D

 

I will add a few clips to prove that the netduma can change the way you play Destiny.


“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#15
AnnonymouS

AnnonymouS

    Senior Member

  • Clubhouse Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 514 posts
  • Local time: 12:13 PM

This should have been fixed a long time ago. I think everyone will agree to that. So far we have been waiting on the new OS for about 10 months now, but this could have been a hot fix a long time ago. I have been with Netduma from the beginning, it seems that It has slowed down a lot on correcting per-existing problems with the current OS. Everyday adjusting this and that no wonder your customers a getting RAGE-QUIT with this.



#16
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

This should have been fixed a long time ago. I think everyone will agree to that. So far we have been waiting on the new OS for about 10 months now, but this could have been a hot fix a long time ago. I have been with Netduma from the being, it seems that It has slowed down a lot on correcting per-existing problems with the current OS. Everyday adjusting this and that no wonder your customers a getting RAGE-QUIT with this.

It was a little company at the lastest firmware but now, things need to move on that why DUMAOS is a complete reconstruction of the OS.


“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#17
AnnonymouS

AnnonymouS

    Senior Member

  • Clubhouse Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 514 posts
  • Local time: 12:13 PM

Thanks for your  reply. :D  



#18
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

Thanks for your  reply. :D  

You're welcome  :)


“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/


#19
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany

so the solution is to reboot the duma after you set up port forwarding? i dont know why this should work and it doesn't for me. of course when i turn off the geo filter the gui is not slow, but when its on it is slow and i want to use the gui also when the geo filter is enabled.



#20
Chive972

Chive972

    Optimization Compulsive Disorder Anonymous Premium Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,967 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 PM
  • LocationFrance

so the solution is to reboot the duma after you set up port forwarding? i dont know why this should work and it doesn't for me. of course when i turn off the geo filter the gui is not slow, but when its on it is slow and i want to use the gui also when the geo filter is enabled.

No, you don't need to reboot the netduma.

The way to avoid the latency issue is to active the host filtering AFTER you've lauchned your console and the game.

After your gaming session, you just need to disable the option for the next time.


“Don't believe everything you read on the Internet.” - Abraham LINCOLN

 

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

giphy.gif

 

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube....-gYUSg2hakzgb1g

Destiny Clan: http://destinytracke...98071/globality

Destiny Tracker: http://destinytracke...iew/ps/Chive972

Facebook Clan: https://www.facebook...lobalityOsiris/






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: slow, interface, gui, port, forwarding

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users