Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Getting an A but not an A+ on DSLReports?


  • Please log in to reply
119 replies to this topic

#1
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,178 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM

*
POPULAR

Hi everyone, 

 

If DSLReports is giving you an A instead of A+ but you could get an A+ on the R1 why does this occur? Does that mean that Anti-Bufferbloat isn't working? 

 

The reason you do not get an A+ is because our enterprise level deep packet inspection analyses the first few packets of the test, this means that DSLReports misreads the result of the bufferbloat test. It is not Anti-Bufferbloat not being able to get an A+, it is DSLReports misreading our DPI as bufferbloat/latency when it is not.The XR500 also has hardware accelaration which means it is a seriously beast piece of kit meaning it can do QoS at gigabit speeds easily so it has absolutely no trouble mitigating local congestion. You're getting the best QoS on the planet so nothing to worry about!

 

If you want to know if Anti-Bufferbloat is actually working we recommend using PingPlotter (Here's a quick guide on how to use it doing the following tests):

  • Saturate your connection as much as possible (download, stream HD videos etc), then do a PingPlotter test and see how much your ping rises.
  • Then do the same test except all you do is set Anti-Bufferbloat to 'Always' and put the sliders down to 70/70. You WILL see a substantial difference here. 

Just to reiterate, bufferbloat (lag/latency) only occurs when your connection is saturated. With Anti-Bufferbloat enabled your network is never allowed to become saturated and therefore you do not experience bufferbloat. 


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#2
vShikko

vShikko

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationUSA, JPN
Thank you Fraser. Are there any tests being conducted with DPI disabled on the XR500 just to ensure that packets reach the host/client without inspection? Thanks in advance.

Shikko

#3
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,178 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM

Thank you Fraser. Are there any tests being conducted with DPI disabled on the XR500 just to ensure that packets reach the host/client without inspection? Thanks in advance.

Shikko

 

People have requested a DPI off button essentially so they can test this. A few features will be affected by this so it's something we'll look into carefully.


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#4
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,676 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNear Manchester

People have requested a DPI off button essentially so they can test this. A few features will be affected by this so it's something we'll look into carefully.

That would be a good idea as to be honest the bufferbloat is absolutely useless for me on the XR500. I went 2 - 40 last night in sim's stream. No matter what I did I could not kill anything all evening but as soon as I disabled anti-bufferbloat and put my LEDE router in front of the XR500 to control bufferbloat instead, my bullets were on point. Not really impressed in having to set up my network this way, but I am hoping DPI will have a disable option in a future update.


Posted Image Posted Image

#5
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 832 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ

That would be a good idea as to be honest the bufferbloat is absolutely useless for me on the XR500. I went 2 - 40 last night in sim's stream. No matter what I did I could not kill anything all evening but as soon as I disabled anti-bufferbloat and put my LEDE router in front of the XR500 to control bufferbloat instead, my bullets were on point. Not really impressed in having to set up my network this way, but I am hoping DPI will have a disable option in a future update.

 

Dpi on/off won’t  make a difference to this though - dsl reports is just getting confused and giving a false reading. 

 

Could you try Anti-Bufferbloat again tonight and see if last night was just a one off? Thanks BD!



#6
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,676 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNear Manchester

Dpi on/off won’t  make a difference to this though - dsl reports is just getting confused and giving a false reading. 

 

Could you try Anti-Bufferbloat again tonight and see if last night was just a one off? Thanks BD!

I can give it another try. Will play with sliders back at 70/70 but I am conviced theres something not quite right with the qos on the XR500. I will also try with just the netduma R1 tomorrow and then report back. :)


Posted Image Posted Image

#7
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 832 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ
Thanks BD - it’s a highly tested feature so if there is an issue it’s an unusual one and we’d love to get to the bottom of it.

You don’t have IPv6 or PPPoE do you?

#8
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,676 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNear Manchester

Thanks BD - it’s a highly tested feature so if there is an issue it’s an unusual one and we’d love to get to the bottom of it.

You don’t have IPv6 or PPPoE do you?

no matey, i am on talktalk who is auto authentication


Posted Image Posted Image

#9
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 832 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ

Ok, thanks BD!



#10
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,676 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNear Manchester

it was unplayable again last night with just the XR500 again. Could it be anything to do with the v2.2.0.7rc2 hotfix I am running? 


Posted Image Posted Image

#11
flexingjohn

flexingjohn

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts

it was unplayable again last night with just the XR500 again. Could it be anything to do with the v2.2.0.7rc2 hotfix I am running? 

ive unplugged my xr500 and gone back to the R1 as i know i can drop V2 rockets due to the connection been awesome on pre-emptive 50% down -65 % up on the sliders. just cant get the same connection on xr500.  



#12
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,178 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM

it was unplayable again last night with just the XR500 again. Could it be anything to do with the v2.2.0.7rc2 hotfix I am running? 

 

No that shouldn't effect it at all. Have you done a PingPlotter test with QoS enabled vs disabled when the connection is saturated on the XR500? If not I would recommend doing so. You will see the Anti-Bufferbloat is just as good if not better than the R1.

 

ive unplugged my xr500 and gone back to the R1 as i know i can drop V2 rockets due to the connection been awesome on pre-emptive 50% down -65 % up on the sliders. just cant get the same connection on xr500.  

 

From the 1 on 1 we had there is nothing wrong with your XR500 settings, did you change them since I had a look?


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#13
flexingjohn

flexingjohn

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts

No that shouldn't effect it at all. Have you done a PingPlotter test with QoS enabled vs disabled when the connection is saturated on the XR500? If not I would recommend doing so. You will see the Anti-Bufferbloat is just as good if not better than the R1.

 

 

From the 1 on 1 we had there is nothing wrong with your XR500 settings, did you change them since I had a look?

hi fraser, nothing has changed i have been in so many lobbies on live stream and quit the game completely due to me getting shredded because of the bullet reg. my shots are on point but they are like 2 shot kills me. even though on my screen i have hit them 4 times plus at close range. a couple of members from this forum have come into my streams and asked how did i die when i shoot them. sometimes i can unload a full magazine into them and the last bullet will kill them. I did a ping plotter test yesterday after stream as it was only a 20minute stream as i 

 game. but im losing 75% packets at hop 4 everything else no packet loss? 



#14
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,676 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationNear Manchester

No that shouldn't effect it at all. Have you done a PingPlotter test with QoS enabled vs disabled when the connection is saturated on the XR500? If not I would recommend doing so. You will see the Anti-Bufferbloat is just as good if not better than the R1.

 

Yes I tried it with sliders set at 70 and still aweful hit detection. I was talking to zennon on xbox party chat and have altered my traffic priority to a custom 1 with xbox selected rather than the default dumaOS classified games. I dont think it is a bufferbloat issue rather the DPI causing it. I am running out of things what could be causing it. 


Posted Image Posted Image

#15
Zennon

Zennon

    Member

  • Administrators
  • 6,928 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM
  • LocationUK

Yes I tried it with sliders set at 70 and still aweful hit detection. I was talking to zennon on xbox party chat and have altered my traffic priority to a custom 1 with xbox selected rather than the default dumaOS classified games. I dont think it is a bufferbloat issue rather the DPI causing it. I am running out of things what could be causing it. 

I would set back up modem > XR500 run a ping plotter while you game and you will see there is no ping fluctuation.

 

DSLReports is not a good yard stick to test by especially as it is reporting the DPI as a spike when in reality there is no spikes, plus testing locally to destination and back is a true test.



#16
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,178 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM

hi fraser, nothing has changed i have been in so many lobbies on live stream and quit the game completely due to me getting shredded because of the bullet reg. my shots are on point but they are like 2 shot kills me. even though on my screen i have hit them 4 times plus at close range. a couple of members from this forum have come into my streams and asked how did i die when i shoot them. sometimes i can unload a full magazine into them and the last bullet will kill them. I did a ping plotter test yesterday after stream as it was only a 20minute stream as i 

 game. but im losing 75% packets at hop 4 everything else no packet loss? 

 

That is not necessarily lag in the traditional sense. Can you include a video snippet of a typical game to show us what you're talking about? We can't diagnose based on gameplay, only on ping but this may help us. Does the graph on PingPlotter show red lines for packet loss? If so that is an ISP issue so you'll definitely need to contact them.

 

Yes I tried it with sliders set at 70 and still aweful hit detection. I was talking to zennon on xbox party chat and have altered my traffic priority to a custom 1 with xbox selected rather than the default dumaOS classified games. I dont think it is a bufferbloat issue rather the DPI causing it. I am running out of things what could be causing it. 

 

As Zennon said above do the PingPlotter test to see if Anti-Bufferbloat is working or not. Are you actually getting lag or just hit detection? Have you moved your Geo-Filter to force a different server?


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#17
flexingjohn

flexingjohn

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts

On Cod WW2 PS4 is the main game i play. and i will clip a video tonight as i need to go on my twitch past streams.  or i can can record both my gameplay and dumaos dashboard and post you that?

pingplotter the graph at the bottom doesn't show and red lines only the top right hand of the page which shows me the packet loss on hop 4. 



#18
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,178 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM

Game and Geo-Filter would be most useful thank you. 

 

Ahh okay, the graph at the bottom is what you want to focus on. Can you show a screenshot of that please


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#19
flexingjohn

flexingjohn

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts

hi fraser, got a major problem. i am trying to run ping plotter and watch a 4k video on youtube with the QoS turned off and the im getting major buffer. could this be the problem? 

as when im live streaming to twitch and youtube and watching the video on youtube that i living streaming and also gaming? could this cause the problems im having?



#20
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,178 posts
  • Local time: 06:53 AM

hi fraser, got a major problem. i am trying to run ping plotter and watch a 4k video on youtube with the QoS turned off and the im getting major buffer. could this be the problem? 

as when im live streaming to twitch and youtube and watching the video on youtube that i living streaming and also gaming? could this cause the problems im having?

 

That's because you're not running QoS, you're essentially saturating your network which is causing lag. That is expected behaviour when not using QoS. Use QoS and that problem should disappear!


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users