Bufferbloat, reactive vs preemptive

Is it true that the reactive algorithm uses sq_codel while preemptive does not? I have heard that sq_codel is the best for Bufferbloat and has a heavy impact on gaming. If preemptive uses something else then what is the advantage of preemptive? I have 50 down so the recommendation for me is preemptive. I'm working on tweaking my settings, I tried all the recommended settings when I first got the Netduma but the results were not really any better than my other router. I have read through the forums and see a lot about the 2 different options for this but would like to know what preemptive uses that works better for connections below 60. I'm also wondering why people are saying they get good results by changing things like upnp forwarding, I thought that was only if using another router?

I'm not tech savvy but from what I have read about sq codel and Bufferbloat it seems that sq codel would be the clear winner.

• Netduma Staff

Pre-emptive is a congestion control algorithm written specifically for the Netduma. Pre-emptive is supposed to be better (but uses more resources so can't handle higher speeds) which is why it is the recommended one.

Thank you. I just don't understand why myself and others with less than 60 get better results with reactive for Bufferbloat on dslreports. Is that test flawed? I can only get an A rating with preemptive but an A+ with reactive.

I know things don't always work as intended because I once tweaked a Verizon arris gateway to go from horrible gaming to a cheat machine. One of the things I did on it was using upnp, port forwarding, and dmz all at the same time which is recommended as a big DONT DO. Should I not rely on the Bufferbloat test and use preemptive any way? If I get better results with reactive could that be a problem with my router or maybe a bug in the firmware? If so should I try reinstalling the newest firmware?