Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

NIGHTHAWK DUMA OS


19 replies to this topic

#1
velloonythedeity

velloonythedeity

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Local time: 06:41 PM
  • LocationSt.Louis, MO

If you are mad about the r1 not having the update right away, don't be. 

because the duma os on the nighthawk is missing so many little key features. I'm actually sending my's back. 



#2
kevo

kevo

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • Local time: 06:41 PM
  • Locationalabama

could of told ya that lol



#3
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,972 posts
  • Local time: 07:41 PM

If you are mad about the r1 not having the update right away, don't be. 

because the duma os on the nighthawk is missing so many little key features. I'm actually sending my's back. 

 

Like what?


Posted Image


Posted Image


#4
velloonythedeity

velloonythedeity

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Local time: 06:41 PM
  • LocationSt.Louis, MO

Like what?

no profile import etc. the list is way too long.

could of told ya that lol

lol, just crazy fam.

I cant even get in the interface no more.

 



#5
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,229 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNear Manchester

Theres an update coming out today or monday Netduma have stated!



#6
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 18,001 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM

If you are mad about the r1 not having the update right away, don't be. 

because the duma os on the nighthawk is missing so many little key features. I'm actually sending my's back. 

no profile import etc. the list is way too long.

I cant even get in the interface no more.

 

Hi velloony, It is not supposed to be a carbon copy of the R1. This is an entirely rewritten system that will allow many new features than the R1 original software could have ever handled. Your favourite features will be implemented do not worry. This is just the first version of the software. As BD has already mentioned there is already a new update on the way which is much improved over the one you are on. So I would recommend holding off on returning it because we've only just hit the tip of the iceberg, there is much more to come! The development speed of DumaOS compared to the R1 is much faster, we can introduce a feature like profiles very quickly and in fact the new update coming has profiles for the Geo-Filter.

 

If you cannot get on to the interface then please email us (I have PM'd you our email addresses) and we can do a 1 on 1 today. 


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST

World Clock

Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - 2am BST



If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#7
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 18,001 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM

Upgrade has gone out today so definitely upgrade to that, it's much better!


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST

World Clock

Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - 2am BST



If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#8
mohands

mohands

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Local time: 02:41 AM

could we get that upgrade or at least joining in beta? 



#9
Netduma Iain

Netduma Iain

    CTO

  • Administrators
  • 7,293 posts
  • Local time: 11:41 PM

could of told ya that lol

 

How could you? You don't know the featureset. XR500 has far more features than the r1 and far better features, also it's a nighthawk with absolutely beast hardware underneath the hood.

 

no profile import etc. the list is way too long.

lol, just crazy fam.

I cant even get in the interface no more.

 

I've dm'd you please check  :)

Firstly the new upgrade has profiles for the Geo-Filter. But otherwise there is no need. We had profiles in the r1 for two main reasons:
1. It helped users achieve full speeds by disabling some features because the hardware couldn't achieve it.
2. It helped people turn on and off QoS before and after gaming respectively.

Issue 1 is not a problem, full blown qualcomm hardware acceleration means all features work at full speed on any connection. Even with pppoe over ac wifi you can hit full speed with 0% CPU usage and therefore 0 software jitter.

Issue 2 is fixed by our new auto qos feature.

I'd highly recommended upgrading to new firmware as it helps with usability. I've also dm'd you my email address. Please contact me for any questions you have or if I can help with 1 on 1.

Xr500 is more feature rich than the r1 by a long way.

 

 

PS I've written this from the phone and I accidentally edited your message when trying to quote you. I've undone it now.



#10
velloonythedeity

velloonythedeity

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Local time: 06:41 PM
  • LocationSt.Louis, MO

Hi velloony, It is not supposed to be a carbon copy of the R1. This is an entirely rewritten system that will allow many new features than the R1 original software could have ever handled. Your favourite features will be implemented do not worry. This is just the first version of the software. As BD has already mentioned there is already a new update on the way which is much improved over the one you are on. So I would recommend holding off on returning it because we've only just hit the tip of the iceberg, there is much more to come! The development speed of DumaOS compared to the R1 is much faster, we can introduce a feature like profiles very quickly and in fact the new update coming has profiles for the Geo-Filter.

 

If you cannot get on to the interface then please email us (I have PM'd you our email addresses) and we can do a 1 on 1 today. 

I had to reset my router, I can get in the interface now.



#11
velloonythedeity

velloonythedeity

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Local time: 06:41 PM
  • LocationSt.Louis, MO

How could you? You don't know the featureset. XR500 has far more features than the r1 and far better features, also it's a nighthawk with absolutely beast hardware underneath the hood.

 

I've dm'd you please check  :)

Firstly the new upgrade has profiles for the Geo-Filter. But otherwise there is no need. We had profiles in the r1 for two main reasons:
1. It helped users achieve full speeds by disabling some features because the hardware couldn't achieve it.
2. It helped people turn on and off QoS before and after gaming respectively.

Issue 1 is not a problem, full blown qualcomm hardware acceleration means all features work at full speed on any connection. Even with pppoe over ac wifi you can hit full speed with 0% CPU usage and therefore 0 software jitter.

Issue 2 is fixed by our new auto qos feature.

I'd highly recommended upgrading to new firmware as it helps with usability. I've also dm'd you my email address. Please contact me for any questions you have or if I can help with 1 on 1.

Xr500 is more feature rich than the r1 by a long way.

 

 

PS I've written this from the phone and I accidentally edited your message when trying to quote you. I've undone it now.

The profile feature is very well needed. I don't care about the hardware, if it's missing all the features from the original r1. you cant zoom in on the map like the old r1, and I like making profiles so me and my friends can find the sweet spots to play the game together with no lag issues because we both have dumas but now that's gone.



#12
Netduma Iain

Netduma Iain

    CTO

  • Administrators
  • 7,293 posts
  • Local time: 11:41 PM
Ok thanks for the feedback. We can easily get greater zoom back into DumaOS. Will make sure that is in next upgrade.

For sharing profiles you can use NETGEAR's backup/restore feature which allows you to share entire router settings. I think I may add ability to export/import individual r-app settings. Would that be what you wanted in terms of sharing with friends?

#13
Numo36

Numo36

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
Good job guys I love this router

#14
Numo36

Numo36

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
DumaOS 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

#15
Netduma Iain

Netduma Iain

    CTO

  • Administrators
  • 7,293 posts
  • Local time: 11:41 PM

Good job guys I love this router


Really glad to hear that mate :D

#16
thegaurdian1

thegaurdian1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Local time: 07:41 PM
  • LocationHaverhill, MA

Really glad to hear that mate :D

Is the NIghthaw router going to receive Ani-Jitter spike feature like the R1?  If yes I might upgrade or just wait until it receive it.


5766536523.png5661499.png


#17
Netduma Iain

Netduma Iain

    CTO

  • Administrators
  • 7,293 posts
  • Local time: 11:41 PM

Is the NIghthaw router going to receive Ani-Jitter spike feature like the R1?  If yes I might upgrade or just wait until it receive it.

 

Yeah I'm pretty sure we'll be adding a dampening feature (What you guys call anti-jitter). But I can't fully commit because I haven't tested it on a NH yet but I'm over 95% sure. We tested it on R1 ages ago so we can commit to that.

 

Also the NH has full hardware acceleration(HAL) therefore zero software jitter. Which will make a big difference to your jitter :). Unfortunately the R1 will always have software jitter as it doesn't have HAL.



#18
Od1n

Od1n

    Senior Member

  • Clubhouse Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 644 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM

Yeah I'm pretty sure we'll be adding a dampening feature (What you guys call anti-jitter). But I can't fully commit because I haven't tested it on a NH yet but I'm over 95% sure. We tested it on R1 ages ago so we can commit to that.

 

Also the NH has full hardware acceleration(HAL) therefore zero software jitter. Which will make a big difference to your jitter :). Unfortunately the R1 will always have software jitter as it doesn't have HAL.

 

how high would you estimate the software jiiter is on the R1?

1-3ms?

 

just curious, if Anti-Spike ever comes out the software jitter most likely cannot be eliminated by it



#19
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 18,001 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM

how high would you estimate the software jiiter is on the R1?

1-3ms?

 

just curious, if Anti-Spike ever comes out the software jitter most likely cannot be eliminated by it

 

Iain is on a plane right now so a more detailed answer will be provided by him when available.

 

As far as I can tell software jitter wouldn't be something that couldn't be eliminated by the R1 based on what Iain has said above.


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST

World Clock

Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - 2am BST



If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#20
Netduma Iain

Netduma Iain

    CTO

  • Administrators
  • 7,293 posts
  • Local time: 11:41 PM

how high would you estimate the software jiiter is on the R1?

1-3ms?

 

just curious, if Anti-Spike ever comes out the software jitter most likely cannot be eliminated by it

 

It's hard to tell how much jitter it introduces, depends what the machine is doing at the time.

 

Nope cannot eliminate software jitter. Can reduce it by having a faster machine or more cores. Hardware eliminates it though as it doesn't even touch the kernel gets processed on the data plane.  





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users