XR300 QoS help

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and I am also new to the XR300 router. I am having some issues with it though that I hope someone will be able to help me with. The issue I am having is I am gaming online with Xbox, and when my wife watches Netflix I am suffering lag. I have anti-bufferbloat selected on always. My bandwidth allocation is selected on 100 on my Xbox with share excess bandwidth selected. My Xbox is added to the traffic prioritisation. Is there something I have missed or not configured properly? I did think about disabling the share excess function on bandwidth but then that would result in other devices not being able to function correctly. I did try editing my smart tv so that the bandwidth was only set at 2mbps however I felt like it still wasn’t working correctly. Any help would be much appreciated. 

Danny 

Guest Killhippie
4 hours ago, faulko said:

No sorry.

Other then when you make changes perhaps a reboot just to make sure its all locked in.

You dont need to reboot when making changes just press apply, rebooting causes more issues than it does good if you do it all the time.

3 hours ago, Taylordrift21 said:

Hi Alex, no she is using a smart tv? What are your thoughts on this? Thanks 

Ah okay it's just that i've found that a Fire TV Sticks cause all sorts of slowdown sometimes.

What I would suggest is to set Anti-Bufferbloat to always, and then turn down the Download slider by 10% at a time until your gameplay seems stable. You can then turn the sliders back up slowly until it starts to feel worse. Using this method you can find the sweet spot on the slider for your connection.

The bandwidth setting (in the anti-bufferbloat side menu) should be set to the speed that you pay for from your ISP.

If you're not sure, you could set it to the maximum speed you've ever got on a speed test on your connection.

You basically want it to represent your connection at it's best.