congestion control

Vroomfondel1965

hi guys,

I've had my Netduma for a couple of years now so I'm not a total noob but........I've added a linksys router for 5Ghz wi fi but when I adjust the sliders on cc the speed to the linksys also drops, Is there a setting I'm missing as I thought it would have greater access to speed when the sliders are lowered for my Xbox. I have share excess ticked also.........thanks in advance for any replies.

That is correct CC will give headroom to all attached devices including the Linksys so when you game network usage by other people will not create jitter spikes.

If you want more bandwidth when you are not game then set the sliders to 100%

That is correct you lower the bandwidth so you are leaving headroom so the others using the bandwidth do not create jitter.

It will lower the bandwidth on the connected Linksys AP.

This is what the congestion control is for, control congestion so other users in your network do not make you lag.

For me this is indispensable as a gamer on a utilized network

Ok, thanks for your patience. Looking at options on how to run my "network", modem mode to duma then linksys will lower bandwidth to the rest of the house because of above. Am running duma and linksys side by side which means any downloading affects my gaming. I've tried modem mode to linksys to duma which I think affected gaming and meant duma only operated host filtering and cc......any suggestions welcome.

Modem > Netduma > Linksys AP is the best way to do this.

Yes this will lower the bandwidth but this is a good thing while you game 70% each way using reactive is the sweet spot for myself other users use other percentages.

I leave my sliders at 70% all the time so my web pages open fast even if my line would be saturating as my son does a download.

Others like to switch back to 100% while they are not gaming.