Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Qos


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Local time: 10:43 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany
Got ghe xr500. But i dont get how qos works exactly. I thought when i set only when high priority is detected the bandwidth goes to the 70% i set and when my console is off the sliders automatically go to 100% to achieve my full speeds.

#2
pollutionblues

pollutionblues

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,090 posts
  • Local time: 09:43 PM
  • LocationOuter Hebrides

Got ghe xr500. But i dont get how qos works exactly. I thought when i set only when high priority is detected the bandwidth goes to the 70% i set and when my console is off the sliders automatically go to 100% to achieve my full speeds.


The sliders won’t visually change from 70% to 100% when your console is off but you will get your full speed.
The family that slays together stays together

#3
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Local time: 10:43 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany

The sliders won’t visually change from 70% to 100% when your console is off but you will get your full speed.


I also believed that this is the case, but my speeds stay on 70%

#4
pollutionblues

pollutionblues

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,090 posts
  • Local time: 09:43 PM
  • LocationOuter Hebrides

I also believed that this is the case, but my speeds stay on 70%


Is the red light for indicating high priority traffic detected off when you test your speed? What device are you using to test the speed?
The family that slays together stays together

#5
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 18,592 posts
  • Local time: 09:43 PM

pollution is correct in both cases. Sliders won't visually change but it will go back to 100%. If the High Priority LED is lit up under Traffic Prioritization then QoS will still be active, once it disappears then you'll go back to 100% speeds.


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#6
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Local time: 10:43 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany
the led is off, but my speeds are still like on 70%

Is the red light for indicating high priority traffic detected off when you test your speed? What device are you using to test the speed?


my laptop and phone

ok i changed it to always, then back to only when high traffic and now it works :huh:

#7
Blameless

Blameless

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Local time: 09:43 PM
My ping graph on my xr500 stays at 13ms with my new modem I just bought what does that mean?

#8
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 2,682 posts
  • Local time: 09:43 PM

My ping graph on my xr500 stays at 13ms with my new modem I just bought what does that mean?

 

It means you've got a 13ms base ping, which is excellent for gaming :)


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users