xr500 SUDDENLY wont allow some of my devices connect-firewall? Help Please!

Hi,

I am not a techie at all.  I have two wifi devices in my home that have always worked seamlessly with the Nighthawk xr500 router.  14 days ago 2 devices went "offline" so I called for tech support and on my Nest and they said the code means that the firewall is too strict to just bring it down to let the devices connect.  I have tried to do so but when I look at all the menu options I can't find anything referencing security or firewall.  Can someone walk me thru what to do?  I called Netgear and they won't provide any support on their own products without paying for a service agreement...how frustrating.  Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Lisa

There is no firewall settings in the XR500.

Also do the devices not physically connect to the XR500? That is not a firewall issue. If it was a firewall issue they would connect but have no communication to the internet.

• Administrators

Hey, welcome to the forum!

The closest thing to a firewall setting is the NAT option in WAN Settings, setting this to Open relaxes the firewall a little. 

What is happening exactly, are they connected to ethernet/WiFi but just not receiving ethernet? If you have a look on the Device Manager do they show as online? Do they appear black instead of red? Did you change any settings/anything in the setup when you first noticed the issue?