MUST READ! Network vs Input Lag

Bigfntarget

I have been battling lag on CoD for many years and have been doing networking research and messing with my internet connection forever, recently switching to a fiber optic connection and purchasing an XR500 gaming router.

After getting my connection to rock solid, lag jitter and bufferbloat free (with the help of the netduma support staff and this amazing community), I was still finding my games to be hit and miss. I would get 20+ kills one or two games, then have a handful of really awful rounds... very sporadic and frustrating.

That is until I looked more into Input Lag and found that most of my lag now was actually input lag and not my network connection. I was using an older 60" lcd tv to play and played with the controllers wirelessly.

I followed the advice of some youtubers and bought myself a new gaming monitor (120hz and 1ms response time) and a better hdmi cable, ditching the old lcd tv I was using to play, as well as hooking my controller up to usb and setting the appropriate settings on the ps4 and monitor.

The difference is ASTOUNDING and I feel kind of dumb for not realizing just how much input lag I was battling with, assuming this whole time my internet connection was to blame. The fiber connection and XR500 brought my ping down from an average of 100-110ms down to 30ms, but using my old tv and wireless controller was producing probably just as much lag on my end that appears as network lag (players getting the drop on you, firing first and dieing, etc).

Not only is the quality of the graphics better and motion is more fluid, but the responsiveness in the game is incredible. With the average 30ms of ping I get to CoD servers and the immediate responsiveness of the input, I feel like all of my deaths are legitimate and can actually chaulk them up to facing better players, making mistakes, or just crap luck.

I highly recommend watching this video;