Nordvpn and Netgear XR500

Hitman1020

I have a question about nordvpn and my netgear xr500. So I’m currently living overseas and unfortunately the hybrid VPN option in the Dumas interface doesn’t support nordvpn. It has two vpns it shows in the drop down menu (hidemyass and purevpn). How do I get the nordvpn on my router so It can show the my home network is basically states side. We use Xbox ones in this house and almost all our games especially COD and trying to get into an online multiplayer match can take mins to hours to find enough people to play. The servers over here in Malaysia are garbage. I currently use nordvpn on all my devices but can not install it on Xbox so hence the router. The router has current firmware and I’m basically a novice. I really need an easy step by step how to in order to get nordvpn on my xr500 protect my whole network. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

• Netduma Staff

Hi, welcome to the forum! You're in the right place. First of all, I'd recommend checking out our official guide for Hybrid VPN here: http://support.netduma.com/support/solutions/articles/16000087492--dumaos-optimal-settings-guide-hybrid-vpn

In short, those two preset options (hidemyass and purevpn) aren't the only ones we support. You can actually use any VPN through DumaOS - all it requires is a 'config file'.

You should be able to grab a config file from NordVPN, since that is part of the service you're paying for. I believe you get them here: https://nordvpn.com/ovpn/, though I haven't used one before so I could be wrong.

Once you have a file, copy it into the Advanced Section on Hybrid VPN. There's an area there for config files. Enter your username and password on the same page, and you should be up and running :)