Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Anyone on BT received this email?


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

When I moved to BT from Virgin Media I was looking for quality gaming and stability rather than bandwidth, so I went for the basic 50/10 Infinity package. I just opened this today and it seems like I'm eligible for a free upgrade to their 76Mb package. I've got a couple of questions for anyone more clued up than me.

 

1. My Smart Hub's current max data rates are 65/29Mb while I pay for a guaranteed 50/10 (I receive 52/10). How is this speed boost enabled? Do I need new firmware? Or will I never be able to receive 76Mb because 65Mb is the absolute maximum? I'm fairly sure my entering my postcode into their availability checker showed I could get Infinity 2 though.

 

2. Assuming I can get this boost, does that include the higher upload bandwidth of up to 18Mb too? I'm not too bothered about download - although I'd be grateful for any freebie of course - but the upload boost could really come in handy.

 

Any knowledge you could share with me would be greatly appreciated, cheers :)

 

Edit: I just checked their checker and I am indeed eligible for up to 76Mb. Does this mean the 65/29Mb caps apply only to my 52/10Mb package, or can this be increased to accommodate Infinity 2 as I'm currently on Infinity 1?

 

I actually just received my first firmware update for a long time, but my max data rates haven't changed. I'm a bit stumped lol

Attached Files



#2
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 820 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationNear Manchester

check this link out!

 

 

https://www.thinkbro...ity-1-customers



#3
BIG__DOG

BIG__DOG

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 820 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationNear Manchester

go and do a line speed check to see what speeds you can achieve on your line! 



#4
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK
Good stuff BD, thanks. I'll give that a browse :)

#5
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,441 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

You will receive the max attainable for your line so 65/20.

 

It is turned on their side no firmware needed.



#6
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK
Yeah their checker says I can get 65-80 down based on my location and landline. The GUI says max rates are as above but the current sync speed is still 55/10.

Shame it's just 65Mb tops for my area but the upload boost is nice. Any idea how long it takes to kick in?

#7
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM

Yeah their checker says I can get 65-80 down based on my location and landline. The GUI says max rates are as above but the current sync speed is still 55/10.

Shame it's just 65Mb tops for my area but the upload boost is nice. Any idea how long it takes to kick in?

 

They are rolling out the boost between Sept and mid Nov so don't worry that you haven't got it yet. I haven't got mine yet neither.



#8
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK
Just did a line test and it gave me 54.8Mb down. Never had above my estimated 52Mb before lol

#9
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM

Just did a line test and it gave me 54.8Mb down. Never had above my estimated 52Mb before lol

 

Not sure exactly what I'm getting as I tell the Duma I'm on 47/9 plus I always have the CC on 50/50.



#10
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,441 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

In the near future BT will be rolling out G.fast by adding a pod to the cabinets

 

Attached File  G.fast pod 2.jpg   10.78KB   1 downloads

 

Up to 330mb depending on distance from the property to the cab.



#11
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK
Interesting stuff Zen. Would that be classed as full FTTH?

I've been stalking Hyperoptic's website as they offer cheap 100/100Mb and 1/1Gb FTTH but they don't provide services to my town yet :( I'm not sure if it'd be much of an upgrade over the 6ms I get to London already but I'd imagine stability is second to none.

#12
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM

Interesting stuff Zen. Would that be classed as full FTTH?

I've been stalking Hyperoptic's website as they offer cheap 100/100Mb and 1/1Gb FTTH but they don't provide services to my town yet :( I'm not sure if it'd be much of an upgrade over the 6ms I get to London already but I'd imagine stability is second to none.

 

Bet its really expensive though.



#13
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,441 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

Its still FTTP, it is being trialled in many places now it will cost a bit more that what we pay now I am sure.

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.fast



#14
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

Its still FTTP, it is being trialled in many places now it will cost a bit more that what we pay now I am sure.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.fast


Yeah FTTH/FTTP are the same thing right? Idk if they're interchangeable terms in the industry or if one is regarded as the proper term.

#15
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

Bet its really expensive though.

100 up and down is £29 a month for the first year, £38 a month thereafter but it's only a 12 month contract. I've been paying £38.49 a month for 50/10 after they gave me a £2 price hike lol. Funny enough after renewing my contract with them the price has dropped back down to £36 LOL

Gigabit up and down is £49 a month. They even offer no contract plans, a bit like getting a goodybag from Giffgaff or something. You can pay a little more for one month rolling plans.

#16
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,441 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

Yeah FTTH/FTTP are the same thing right? Idk if they're interchangeable terms in the industry or if one is regarded as the proper term.

Dam sorry I meant to say FTTC, so G.fast will be FTTC based.



#17
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK
Ah okay, thanks for letting me know about it! That's a big old boost from <80Mb :)

#18
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM

Got my speed boost last night. 76 down / 18 up :D



#19
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,441 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM
  • LocationUK

Got my speed boost last night. 76 down / 18 up :D

Nice, how much are you paying a month if you do not mind me asking N3CR0?



#20
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Local time: 11:30 PM

Nice, how much are you paying a month if you do not mind me asking N3CR0?

 

Not a clue. I'm not the bill payer :D

 

At a guess, I think its around the £35 mark, could be totally wrong though. I remember it was around £90 on Virgin, thats why we changed ISP.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users