How do I set internet up on my XR500 WITHOUT modem?

I have recently purchased an XR500 Nighthawk gaming router, however I am having tremendous difficulty with setting the internet up. I do not have a modem (like it keeps mentioning) and plugging the provided black Ethernet (LAN) cable into the back of the yellow Internet socket isn’t doing me any justice. I am starting to believe that I need a modem for this? I am currently with Vodafone Broadband (UK) and I have been told that I can use this router with my broadband. I guess my overall query is, how do I get my current broadband to be on this router WITHOUT a modem, surely this is possible? Or perhaps even if I have to still use my Vodafone router with my XR500, I don’t really care. I have a BT Openreach master socket by the way (if that’s even worth mentioning) Any and preferably all possibilities would be greatly appreciated (as long as they don’t consist of a modem) Even if I have to go as far as purchasing a special cable, because my Openreach master socket has to have a micro filter and that requires RJ-11,which goes into the micro filter, and the micro filter into the master socket. I have seen the XR500 only allows RJ-45, so I was wondering if getting a RJ-11 to RJ-45 (RJ-11 on one end of the cable and RJ-45 on the other end) and obviously the RJ-45 will go into the XR500 and the RJ-11 into my micro filter, which is going into my master socket. I have attached a photo of what my master socket (or even my general phone line sockets look like around the rest of my premises, along with how it is plugged into the router) just so that anyone who has a solution can have a better understanding of what I’m dealing with. 

A5F1B170-AF58-40EA-9975-E219B4662483.jpeg

Your Vodafone router will be an all in one modem and router. I’ve never used one but yo need to go into its settings and see if you have a modem only setting. Then you connect XR500. Connect to the XR500 WAN port. Setup and off you go.