Numbers in device manager and device type query

Hi

I'm a bit new to all this and have recently purchased the XR500 which so far its been plain sailing as I drift through all the settings.

When i open device manager and view my network I can click on each client and this opens a window to the right called device settings.Under the name which i altereda I noticed some numbers i.e. 7/35 or 11/35 and was wondering what these represent.

My second question is does the device type make a deference as I have an EX8000 extender and I've selected a computer and hue which I've selected laptop. is this just for reference or does this impact how the software treats the connected devices.

• Administrators

Hi Newfie - welcome to the forum! Great to hear you are enjoying it so far.

2 hours ago, Newfie said:

Under the name which i altereda I noticed some numbers i.e. 7/35 or 11/35 and was wondering what these represent.

This is the character limit for the device name i.e. you can only enter a device name up to 35 characters long, and so far you have a name that is 7 or 11 characters long! In hindsight, we probably don't really need to show this as it's a little confusing 

2 hours ago, Newfie said:

My second question is does the device type make a deference as I have an EX8000 extender and I've selected a computer and hue which I've selected laptop. is this just for reference or does this impact how the software treats the connected devices.

Device Type is just cosmetic, so you can give it any device type you like, with one exception. If you give a device the type of a console (Xbox or Playstation), it will be treated differently in other features like the Geo-Filter and Traffic Prioritization e.g. all traffic is automatically prioritised on devices that are consoles. So just avoid the console type for now.

We plan to add a lot more device types in the future, as well as possibly allowing a user to manually add their own type.