XR500 & MW2 Best Settings

harty

Hi Guys,

I picked up my first netduma router yesterday, a second hand XR500 - I work in IT so I have configured the device to the best of my ability and I have it to a point where its working well on my network outside of playing games.

I have a few issues and questions - all COD related, that I am hoping someone will be able to iron out for me.

Firstly, what are the best settings to be using for MW2. I am based in the London, UK with a 900mbps line, I average 30ms of PING every game. I am getting stomped every game and although I understand bot lobbies may not be possible, how can I improve my chances of getting better lobbies? I have a PIA VPN service and have tested this on my XR500 and it works, how can I best utalise this? 

Secondly, I dont quite understand how the geo-filter works, it looks like geofencing doesnt seem to be working - I will set my location to say Turkey, using both home mode and polygon mode - it will auth me using UK servers and then my PING will spike to 148ms and sit there, I find very few games and the ones I do find, same strong SBMM issues. 

I have filtered the console using filter mode and again the same issue, perhaps alot of this is education based on my side and im happy to learn but cant figure it out, I can allow and deny servers but not quite sure whats the best way to filter through these, if that makes sense? 

Also I have tried to use the Ping Heatmap for MW2 but the servers are failing, I see this is in the process of being updated - but how will I use this in conjunction to the other pages? 

One minor thing, this router is second hand from CeX, maybe im just being paronoid but is there a way I can ensure no dodgy firmware has been sideloaded onto this device, this may be the wrong thread so tell me to shutup if it is, but I have wiped the device when I got it and updated the firmware, if there is anything else please let me know and ignore me if im being annoying haha.