Hybrid VPN performance issue

Hi team,

I've been using the XR500 router for a few years now and I haven't had any major issues. I recently switched my VPN provider to Proton VPN, and I wanted to use the Hybrid VPN feature on the XR500 (V2.3.2.114). Although hybrid VPN works, I'm seeing a large decrease in internet connection speed. I also am unable to connect to certain streaming services, such as Amazon Prime Video. A similar issue occured with my old VPN provider, but I did not think the router was the cause at the time. Please find screenshots below.

Internet Speed without VPN:

Capture1.JPG.524eca8ceba0cce7c37dbbb90b4cf3ae.JPG

• Streaming works
  • Speed as expected

Internet Speed using Proton VPN Windows 10 app:

97817925_Capture2(AppVPN).JPG.70c0e560b5f610c6c4a211e95030989b.JPG

• Streaming works
  • Speed as expected

When using the Proton VPN Windows 10 application,  the speed doesn't fluctuate as much and I am still able to access streaming services.

Internet Speed using Hybrid VPN (Proton OpenVPN config attached):

923958859_Capture3(RouterHybridVPN).JPG.48733e96c07faa2c3a5c46bc1119c9f0.JPG

image.png.21fb392337e077fe604664a2e24d3023.png

• Streaming does not work
  • Speed is heavily reduced

For reference, the Proton VPN server I am using has the following settings:

• UK Server London #44 (Plus server, so guaranteed to allow streaming)
  • UDP connection

Please let me know if I can post the Hybrid VPN log, as I'm not sure if this contains identifiable information.

I would be grateful if you could help me resolve this issue, I'm keen to use the Hybrid VPN feature as intended!

Thanks,

Addy

uk-44.protonvpn.com.udp.ovpn

• Administrators

Speeds will be reduced using OpenVPN with the router, there isn't we can do about that at the moment unfortunately. You can use ports so it doesn't cover the ports for a speedtest though.

How have you added the device exactly to HybridVPN?

When streaming doesn't work do they give you an error message?