No internet connection

I recieved my brand new R1 router 2 days ago, and followed the setup instructions and was not able to the internet through wifi or hardline. Serching through the forum I tried everything that I could find with no luck in resolving this problem.

Please help

I do not currently have the R1 hooked up since I was unable to connect the internet with the it. We have a Zyxel C1100Z router that came with the modem we got from CenturyLink, that is currently in modem port 4 to wan\lan port on that router. And another ethernet cable going to a PS4. I checked online and I'm unsure if they use a PPPoE, this is my first time trying to set up a different router other than the one that was provided by the ISP. I can contact their tech support and find out if they do indeed use a PPPoE. I hope that was the right information some of this is still new to me. I also uploded a picture of our current modem\router set up with this post if that helps.

15423383123871649537905.jpg

• Netduma Staff

That'll be your culprit. You need to enter your PPPoE details in the R1 WAN settings. If you don't do this, you won't be able to access the Internet through it.

You should hopefully be able to find those PPPoE details easily - it'll be a username and password, maybe found on the Modem interface itself.

• Administrators

Are you using that white cable to connect to the R1? It's hard to tell from the picture but looks like the port the white ethernet cable is isn't what should be connected to the R1. Connect the R1 to one of the yellow ports and see if that works please

The white ethernet cable is going from the modem to the zyxel router so I can still have internet access. I used the cable that came with my R1 plugging it direct into both the modem and the zyxel router and neither one gave me internet access.

• Administrators