Ping issues

I recently bought the xr1000 I was having ping 50-70 consistentltconsistently, I have a gig internet speed everything hardwired. The xr1000 lowered my ping to 30-50ms I play on a lg c2 120hertz TV. I'm trying to see if there's other settings within the router that can help me get a lower ping because I noticed some players are still exceptionally faster with response time I play MW2

• Administrators

Welcome to the forum!

Everyone's connection is different so it may not be possible to lower it further but if you do a wired speedtest.net test what ping do you get and where abouts are you located?

My laptop is not wired to the router. When I do a ping test on the router it always varies.  It has came down considerably but I was wondering if there's some type of settings that can make ir even lower or using a VPN.  I'm still learning how to use this router..

• Administrators
54 minutes ago, Reykc9510 said:

My laptop is not wired to the router. When I do a ping test on the router it always varies.  It has came down considerably but I was wondering if there's some type of settings that can make ir even lower or using a VPN.  I'm still learning how to use this router..

Is it possible to do the wired speedtest I mentioned? Reason I ask is because that will give me your base ping and then I'll be able to tell you if it's possible to improve the ping anymore, without knowing that you won't know what to aim for.

How can I do the wired ping test? I have a laptop so there's no way to hardwire it.. I'm still kinda new at all this tech stuff. I do appreciate you taken the time to help me. Thank you. 

• Administrators

Depending on your laptop it may have an ethernet port you could use to connect it to the router. So the ping there is to the Google server, it doesn't guarantee you would get that do a game server, whether you can do a wired test or not, could you do a speedtest.net test please and provide a screenshot of the result?