Question ( XR1000)

I was just looking in my router a few seconds ago and noticed that in QOS Work At Home the Upload and Download Packets are 0. This strikes me as odd because I have an ATA on the router. Should that not register on WAH? If not I could completely disable the WAH?

Capture.JPG

• Administrators

Is that for connecting a physical phone to? If so that won't have been classified, we've done things like Zoom, Skype etc that a lot of people use. We can certainly look into classifying that kind of device.

Yes. It's a Cisco 192 ATA.  I was just surprised that it didn't show up. I am not concerned though since I have not had an issue with it.

I was a little confused when I tried to add it to the devices in the WAH and instead of just allowing me to select high or low priority it gave me a list of apps. Wasn't sure what to select.

I am not good with ports. I am not sure how to find out.

Doesn't the router display this information? The router is aware of it's presence but no indication of port or anything that I can see. Does it even use ports? I don't know.

28 minutes ago, Netduma Fraser said:

Would be better to have a look at the ports it uses and then make manual rules for those ports and you'll be good to go.

Does it use ports? I don't know. I can't see anything that says it does. Should the router say something? I was always a noob with ports!!

18 minutes ago, Netduma Fraser said:

The router won't say the ports it uses, all you need to do is look up the precise model + ports in Google and you should find the details that you can just put right in

Are you sure it uses ports? I mean I can't find any reference to them at all.

• Administrators

Everything connected online will communicate using ports, I couldn't find anything specifically about the ports for it but at the end of the day it is VoIP so it should use the standard port 5060 so make a rule:

Source 5060
Destination 5060
Protocol TCP/UDP

and see if it prioritizes when it is in use.