Port forwarding / DMZ / NAT

mZta

Hello everyone,

I am just getting into all of this so hopefully you'll bear with me; the end goal here being simply to obtain open NAT, more specifically on COD.

I am currently running my R3 behind my ISP's router, with my pc being behind the r3. I applied a static IP within the R3 itself and within the ISP's router. I then disabled DHCP on the ISP's router and added the R3's WAN IP to the ISP router's DMZ. EDIT: I am also adding that I'm in France and my ISP is Orange and the ISP router is the Livebox 5.

A quick tracert shows the ips of both routers, which would indicate that I am double natting, while it seems, from what I have read through here, I shouldn't be. Are there additional settings I should be looking into or is it only down to having to port forward from then on?

On port forwarding itself, should I be port forwarding on the ISP router, on the R3 or both?

Will try to FAFO separately but would be great to receive some input from some of you.

Thanks 

• Administrators

You will still see both IPs, that is normal, it doesn't mean you're double NATd just that you're using 2 routers. If you check your NAT on the game what does it show?

With a double router set up, should I be port forwarding on both routers + pc or just on the second router (R3) + pc?

Thanks for the help Fraser - still can't seem to get open NAT though. @Fuzy I understand you're a Frenchmen like myself with a similar setup. Is there anything specific I should be looking for on the ISP side?

Otherwise, R3 is feeling nice - there are some inconsistencies between games, but I do see the potential once all the details are ironed out; hit reg is definitely better on certain games.

Salut !

J'ai pas de livebox 5, mais pour que tout marche parfaitement derrière, tu dois désactiver également UPnP/wifi etc... sur la livebox  (l'ensemble des options de routage).