New R2 owner questions

sHANADELT

Hey guys just received the R2 in the mail, Thank you for the fast shipping! i was not expecting that.  I am new to all this networking stuff and was hoping to ask some questions as i am confused on optimal settings for the router.  

Current ISP - Xfinity 1GBps speed

Current Cable Modem - Netgear CM1200

Current Router - NetDuma R2

Computer is hardwired in using Cat6 cables.  

Ok on with the meat and potatoes.  I have noticed my internet speed when using the CM1200 and R2 combo cannot get past 870 MBps, when using the xfinity cable modem/router I get a solid 940 MBps( I tested this with QoS on and off, with it off is when I saw the highest speeds 870 MBps when QoS is on the speeds are reduced to below 600 MBps).  I went into the settings of the CM1200 and checked to see if there was a firmware update but that is taken care of by the ISP apparently.  Which leads me to the router,  I am not sure of the optimal settings for a router.  Disable or enable UPnP? not sure what that does.  static ip? (not sure what that does) if so, how do I set that up? DMZ? I guess I just need a good schooling on these things.  I have also been using the connection benchmark and QoS (i left bandwidth allocation alone is that good?) more specifically the congestion control panel and have been trying to figure out for hours now how to get the jitter down during ping test and try to match up the download/upload/ idle under Ping Load. I have got it pretty close with the jitter  I honestly don't really know where to begin when trying to look this stuff up on the internet, its like going down the rabbit hole everyone seems to have different opinions on how to setup the router.

I appreciate any help related to this in advance.

Thank you,

Nick

Connection Benchmark.png

QoS.png

• Administrators

Hey, welcome to the forum!