Can I change my IP using Duma OS to protect me from dossers?

So basically I am a twitch streamer and recently have been the victim of ddossers online. They got my IP in game and of course my ISP were not particularly helpful so the only option I had to change my IP was to buy a netgear. The attacks stopped but have since resumed. The question i have - is it possible for me to change my IP every day through dumaOS? And if so, what do I change it to? I have little to zero knowledge about these kind of things and need all the help I can get 

• Administrators

Hey, welcome to the forum!

Short answer - no. If you're on a dynamic IP with your ISP then sometimes unplugging the modem for a few minutes and plugging it in will give you a new IP. Changing the MAC address can change it very slightly occassionally but not enough that if they were really determined they could figure it out. Try the modem suggestion, if that changes then great you know you can do that. Either way I would suggest using a VPN to protect your IP but you would need to change your IP first before doing this otherwise it won't be effective. If you can't change it you'll need to get the ISP to do it.

I tried a few times to unplug the router and it wouldn't work. My IP changed once i bought the netgear and turned the ISP router into the modem. My ISP basically didn't help me at all. I thought buying the netgear would protect me from this. Extremely distressing as this is my job.

Also I was on a VPN after buying the netgear, so I am at a loss as to how they seem to have got my IP again 

• Administrators