Question regarding ping-spikes and packet loss

RouterReini

Hello Netduma!

I am considering buying one of your feature-packed routers but I have doubts if it can help me. I really hope you guys can clear things up and make a buy recommandation. Although I feel like nothing but moving to a bigger city will help me..

My problem: Low download rate/ping spikes/packetloss.

My download is around 1,3 MBit/s which is obviously horrible but it is certainly enough to play video games. Counter Strike for example requires only 0,5-0,6 Mbit/s on "low quality" servers (64-tick).

But while I have 1,3 Mbit/s download I have a considerably higher ping during what I call "Internet prime-time". Between 16 o'clock and 23 o'clock I have random ping spikes, packet-loss and all around a higher ping (110 instead of 50).

I am no expert but I feel like my problem isn't hardware related but a thing only my ISP could resolve (they won't tho).

In the discription of your router it says you can minimize packet loss/ping etc.

Is that only the case if I am downloading while I play? I can't do that/ don't do that anyways...

I hope you understood my problem and it would be great if a person who knows what exactly the router is capable of gives me an honest answer.

Sorry for my english, I am not a native speaker.

Greetings :)

Reading this, sadly I don't see the Netduma router helping your case. The problem you're having, is one your ISP is only providing very little speed. Yet the main issue during peak usage hours, others in your area using the same isp as you, and things are being overloaded. So bandwidth is worst, pings go up, and packet loss starts to happen. This all happens because the shared bandwidth they're trying to share in your area isn't enough, and they have over sold the bandwidth.