Fifa 20 - Gameplay Wired v Wifi

Hi guys,

I have been playing FIFA for about 3 years and I have always struggled with input delay. I have done extensive research and testing, and I understand that the netcode is broken. I rarely have decent gameplay.

However, out of all the tests I have made the best way is to play on mobile 4G low latency or wireless 2G (broadband router). Though, on both you can struggle with huge lag spikes and 4G is not as reliable as a home broadband. The best option for me would be 2G band.

I have an Xbox One X and the XR500. They are both in the same room. Archer VR600 is in bridge mode and the XR500 is upstairs, on PPPoE. All wires/cables/routers are good and working. I tested latency and iPerfed them all.

There are three issues with the game:

- classic lag - which is caused by the opponent's jittery connection

- input delay - this occurs when the opponent has constant very high latency with some jitter and it is unplayable

- speed up lag - this is a matter of packet loss (the game freezes and fast forwards after a couple of seconds); the packet loss, I believe, causes frame drops (maybe due to interpolation buffer not receiving data from the server and when the loss is gone it floods the buffer).

Playing wired gives a combination of lag and input delay depending on the opponents connection. However, playing on WiFi seems to fix these two issues, but the speed up lag issue occurs a couple of times per game and it's game breaking. I have tested both 2G and 5G and the 2G band is the best option for me.

I have tried different settings, but with everything I have tried so far I get this packet loss issue. I was hoping someone could help me figure out why the gameplay is better on Wifi and find some settings to ensure there is no packet loss while playing wireless. I have a wifi network analyser on my phone and I always switch to one non-overlapping channel (1,6,11) and one that's the least congested, but with no success.