Opensource / Public Contributions

el1t3st

I'm a software engineer by trade (12 years going strong, e.g I'm versed in NodeJS / C# for back end tech, and a lot of the other JS Frameworks mainly React + Angular.)... but not skilled in the same tech DumaOS is written in (I'm assuming C++ and, I can see the UI is built in Polymer)

Is there any way the community can contribute to the OS. I feel some concepts of polymer for example aren't unique to polymer... and for me to be able to do minor entry level tasks in it would be a fun way to learn some other tech.

The reason I'm asking, is I believe we could assist with things like adding smaller features / fixing smaller issues. Again, for me specifically more VPN providers would be great... :P 

Would there ever be a time when you guys at Netduma would accept contributions from the community (obviously Netduma would need to vigorously screen the PR before merging)... but I'm happy to do some grunt work if it makes my life (and other peoples) easier in the long run.

• Administrators

That's awesome! Thanks for getting in touch It's potentially interesting. Let me just state the downsides I envision upfront so we can explore the idea. If we were to do this then the concerns would be:

• Code would have to be reviewed and meet our internal standards. If this isn't too time consuming for us and the contributor doesn't mind (i.e. don't take it personally if we don't accept a contribution) it sounds exciting
  • We cannot give people access to key parts of our codebase without a stringent contract. Although front-end I'm less concerned about.
  • You'd have to assign copyright to us or at least give an acceptable licence for your contributions. I.e. if you stopped working on it we must be allowed to continue working on it and your contributions do not impact any other parts of the codebase and other obvious legal concerns. 

What do you think about that?