Coaxial Splitter

PharmDawgg

I'm looking for a two way coaxial splitter and was wondering if anyone has already researched this or have any suggestions. I'm looking for a good quality product.

I worked in the cable industry for about 15 years and have seen every one that was made at the time.  The worst ones are the ones that are sold in Home Depot/Lowes and Stereo stores because they don't have the necessary shielding for insulation of ingress/egress signal and are rarely waterproof for outdoor applications.

I assume you need one for 2-way (upstream and downstream) transmission that takes one line and gives you two feeds to feed something like 2 bedrooms or a single TV with PiP, is that correct?

The best bet, in ALL HONESTY, is to just find where the local installers and technicians have lunch (all you can eats are a safe bet  :ph34r: ) and offer then $5 for one of their "approved" 2-ways.  This will pay benefits for you if you ever have to have them come to the house for a "problem call" as the gear is all theirs and they will replace it for no charge as part of the shotgun replace/repair program they teach those guys these days.

CDW is a good place to purchase quality versions however.  Just make sure they handle upstream and downstream transmission (usually expressed as 5Mhz-1.2Ghz, or similar).

Let me know if I can offer any additional insight.

Yeah. It is for Comcast >Cable TV & Internet coming from same outlet. They have one already installed by I just want to make sure it is quality. With Comcast you have to check.

Thanks for all the info. It's helps tremendously.

Yeah. It is for Comcast >Cable TV & Internet coming from same outlet. They have one already installed by I just want to make sure it is quality. With Comcast you have to check.

Thanks for all the info. It's helps tremendously.

Yeah, Comcast especially will ding you (charge you) if they show up for any type of problem and there is gear there they didn't provide, that you bought yourself.