Wifi keeps dropping

Rosaria

The Netduma R1 constantly kicks me from wifi.  I am not that experienced in what I should do, I bought this for my son who plays a lot of CoD.  There are times when I go to my wifi settings on my phone and it does not even pickup the "Netduma R1" as an option in my wifi list.  I've unplugged and replugged but it happens almost every single day.  Also my old router had 2.4 and 5.0 does this have it.  Can someone please help me figure this out?  Thank you in advance!

Hi thank you so much for the quick response and for the welcome!  Yes it happens to all devices (pc, mac, iPhones, android phones)!  Sometimes on the XBOX my son can't connect to "Netduma R1" because it doesn't populate in the list! Any help would be appreciated as I am completely lost as to what to do.  Another note, when i am connected through my iphone it always says "weak security" can you help me with that why does it say that?  Thank you!!

• Administrators

Does it happen at any specific times or when something is happening on the internet i.e. higher than average usage? For security change the WiFi to PSK2, then apply.

Disable the WiFi on the router then apply, reboot the router. Enable the WiFi and then apply, use a WiFi analyser to find the least congested channel and change to that then apply and reboot one final time and see how you get on!

No it happens at anytime, early evenings, early morning, my mom works odd hours so she is online around 3am and she always has a hard time connecting to it because it doesn't populate in the list.  I will do what you said about the security settings.  Could I plug in my old router into the netduma? would that help in anyway?  

• Administrators

Has it been stable since?

If not, the next time you have a drop, could you double check you still have Internet through your modem? Easiest way to test this is to connect a device like your phone to the modem when your main router is down and see if it still has internet.