Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Xbox WIFI issues


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
karlfr

karlfr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

so im having issues with the wifi but its only affecting the xbox. i have tried restarting everything and turning off QOS etc and nothing seems to work

 

HELP!!



#2
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Local time: 08:02 PM
  • LocationUSA

What problems are you having on this xbox?



#3
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,143 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

What is the issue you're having with wifi on xbox?


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#4
neo2070

neo2070

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Local time: 10:02 PM

?



#5
karlfr

karlfr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

its only getting 0.004mb



#6
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,143 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

Download or upload? How did you turn off QoS?


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#7
karlfr

karlfr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

it seems to be both. Like theres no connection basically 



#8
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,143 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

How did you turn off QoS?


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#9
karlfr

karlfr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

i set it to never in the qos settings



#10
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Local time: 08:02 PM
  • LocationUSA

Is the xbox wired or wireless connected? Wired is preferred...



#11
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,143 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

Disable QoS in Anti-Bufferbloat settings and see how you go


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#12
karlfr

karlfr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

its  wireless as no wired upstairs

 

yeah i tried diabling it and nothing still



#13
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,143 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

What speeds do you pay for? 


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#14
karlfr

karlfr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

200mb

 

and every other devise on ethernet is fine



#15
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Local time: 08:02 PM
  • LocationUSA

Can you bring the console down stairs temporarily and connect it to the router via wired and see how it does?



#16
karlfr

karlfr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Local time: 03:02 AM

ok so i have tried wired and it work fine. i also tried connecting my ps4 to wireless and that has the same wifi issues but works fine on ethernet



#17
e38BimmerFN

e38BimmerFN

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Local time: 08:02 PM
  • LocationUSA

Try this, disable any MIMO and any smart connect features on the router, I believe should be under Advanced Settings/Wireless settings.

I would try this as well. Disable the 5Ghz radio and test to see if either console connects two the 2.4ghz radio. Then reverse the test and disable 2.4Ghz and enable 5Ghz and see.

I would temporarily disable WPA on the router. See if the consoles connect to either radio. After test, re-enable WPA2 and AES only.

Set manual channels 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4ghz and any unused channels by neighbors on 5ghz. Try 48 or 149.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users