Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Pings friend in wrong place


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1
Notso-_-

Notso-_-

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM
I live in Eastern Nebraska and my buddy lives in Western Missouri (bout 70 miles apart). We both have x500. My Geo filter pings him in California but he pings me accurately.

#2
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,136 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM

Hey, welcome to the forum!

 

Players will be more likely to be mislocated as it's harder to Geo-locate them. Add them to your allow list and won't be an issue. Also provide the ID and we can correct location in the database at a later date


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#3
Notso-_-

Notso-_-

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM
My ID or his? I have allowed him but it won't work unless I either increase my radius to like 2k to include him in California or I turn it off so it allows people outside my radius.

#4
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,136 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM

My ID or his? I have allowed him but it won't work unless I either increase my radius to like 2k to include him in California or I turn it off so it allows people outside my radius.

 

When you ping them, provide the ID in that panel. Click allow and you'll be able to connect to him regardless of your Geo-Filter settings


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#5
Notso-_-

Notso-_-

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM
F8484e19e597292e. That's the I.d. of my buddy.

#6
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 798 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ
Thanks. Did you add him to your Allow list ok?

#7
Notso-_-

Notso-_-

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM
It worked earlier without me doing anything (I always had him allowed) but he did change his to filtered instead of spectating and that's when it worked. Our ps4 coms wouldnt work until he did that. They are still super slow though, not sure if it's a router problem or a ps4 problem. We use the coms through ps4 and not the game.

#8
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 798 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ

It worked earlier without me doing anything (I always had him allowed) but he did change his to filtered instead of spectating and that's when it worked. Our ps4 coms wouldnt work until he did that. They are still super slow though, not sure if it's a router problem or a ps4 problem. We use the coms through ps4 and not the game.

 

It's probably best just to have one of you filtering (as you figured out) unless you both have the same filter radius selected. 

 

If the comms are being blocked when he is on filtering mode, it sounds like he needs to add you to his allow list too. 

 

As for the slowness, I would expect it's probably on the PS4 side. There's an easy way to test though, just put both of your Geo-Filters into Spectating Mode and see if that clears up any problems. If it continues, it's probably a PS4 issue (most likely with their servers).



#9
Notso-_-

Notso-_-

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 01:07 AM
Cool. Thank you!!!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users