Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Is bufferbloat still a problem for people with let's say 400 Mbps internet ?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
SM961

SM961

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Local time: 01:42 PM
  • LocationUS - CA

Just wondering if BB still applies to the fast internet.


 

 

 17064580.png30181363.png


#2
Blameless

Blameless

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Local time: 09:42 PM

whos your isp! i have the same speeds and wont get A+



#3
SM961

SM961

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Local time: 01:42 PM
  • LocationUS - CA

whos your isp! i have the same speeds and wont get A+

 

whos your isp! i have the same speeds and wont get A+

Spectrum and AT&T.


 

 

 17064580.png30181363.png


#4
Blameless

Blameless

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Local time: 09:42 PM
I have spectrum too!! It hard to get a A+ any tips?

#5
SM961

SM961

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Local time: 01:42 PM
  • LocationUS - CA

I have spectrum too!! It hard to get a A+ any tips?

 

Do your test here at dslreports.com when it is working again.

 

https://www.dslrepor...httpsok=1&r=554


 

 

 17064580.png30181363.png


#6
Blameless

Blameless

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Local time: 09:42 PM
Oh yeah I do it all the time so far an A only!! But pingplotter is the best way to check your line and how well your QOS is working!!

#7
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,994 posts
  • Local time: 04:42 PM
Bufferbloat will always be a problem. The internet runs at whatever your maximum speeds are... Maxed out pipe = bufferbloat. It doesn't matter how fast your speeds are it's about managing the queue of packets in and out. That's why in your other post I was going to ask why are you upgrading your speeds? It's not going to help, if anything it will make ping worse... Generally higher speed packages seem to be more laggy for whatever reason on US ISP cable companies.
Posted Image


Posted Image


#8
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 826 posts
  • Local time: 09:42 PM
  • LocationUK
What MoDBoX said. I actually had far bigger problems with bufferbloat on a higher bandwidth line. Granted it was only 100Mb, but I couldn't get an A+ grade even if I chopped off 80% of it. On 50Mb I can chop off just 3% and average under 2ms bloat for an easy A+ (<5ms bloat for an A+, and I think it's <30ms for an A).

I daresay the popularity of the ISP in your neighbourhood or street has an impact regardless of how much bandwidth you have on tap. The Internet generally tries to do everything with its pedal to the metal so any other device on your network will be affected by this. If you have a 10Mb line and try to download a game, it'll use as close to 10Mb/1.25MB per second as possible. If you're on a 1Gb line it'll try to use as close to 1Gb/125MB per second as possible. The only exception I can think of is streaming; whether you're streaming gameplay to Twitch or trying to watch an online TV service, it doesn't seem to max out your line. I noticed Twitch was using 35Mb tops last night when I watched a friend stream, and when I tested PS4 streaming at 720p60 it seemed to max out at around 5Mb upload. I don't think that would cause bufferbloat because you have so much more disposable bandwidth free, but it's still advisable to cap your bandwidth slightly to guarantee no additional lag.

If Spectrum or AT&T are providing you with cable you'll most likely still see BB issues. My higher bandwidth line was on cable and BB was an issue before I even considered the idle line jitter lol. With 400Mb down (and I'm assuming at least 20Mb up) you should be able to get away with higher than 70% CC though, since 1% of that is considerably more than 1% of 50Mb or whatever. Hope that helps.

#9
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,994 posts
  • Local time: 04:42 PM

The only exception I can think of is streaming; whether you're streaming gameplay to Twitch or trying to watch an online TV service, it doesn't seem to max out your line. I noticed Twitch was using 35Mb tops last night when I watched a friend stream, and when I tested PS4 streaming at 720p60 it seemed to max out at around 5Mb upload.

 

The reason for that is streaming video from the internet downloads itself in large chunks of data at random intervals when it needs to... where as downloading a game, tries to get all the data at once at the speed of your pipe


Posted Image


Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users