Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Interleaving?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Local time: 02:36 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany

anyone know what interleaving does to your connection?



#2
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 826 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM
  • LocationUK

anyone know what interleaving does to your connection?


From what little I know of it, it raises latency in order to stabilise the line if faults are detected. I don't really know the ins and outs of it because I've always been lucky enough to stay on fast path despite getting VDSL2 over a year and a half ago.

I'm sure there'd be some good guides/discussions on it on ISP or networking guide forums online.

#3
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM

Interleaving is a method of taking data packets, chopping them up into smaller bits and then rearranging them so that once contiguous data is now spaced further apart into a non continuous stream.

DSL modems contain an interleaver which is responsible for interleaving the outgoing data & a de-interleaver which decodes and re-assembles data at the receiving end.

 

Zennon will be along shortly to tell you how good it is :P



#4
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM

I'm currently on interleaving and have been for about two weeks.

My connection is crap, I've been on and off interleaving ever since going from cable to FTTC.

Last time I got Open Reach over to have a nose, they couldn't find anything wrong, then the problem went away only to return a couple of weeks later.



#5
lllRL

lllRL

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 826 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM
  • LocationUK
... or I could just say N3CR0 could tell you since he knows WAAAAY more about it than me through experience ;( :P

#6
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Local time: 02:36 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany
So its better to have interleaving or not? 😂

#7
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 3,024 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM
  • LocationLondon, UK

So its better to have interleaving or not?

 

If your line needs it then it's better to have it. But it's better to not need it.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#8
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM

If your line needs it then it's better to have it. But it's better to not need it.

 

What he said ^

Without it, your line could become so unstable its unusable but with it on and being active on your line, not much point in playing CoD unless you like constant BS deaths.



#9
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 3,024 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM
  • LocationLondon, UK

What he said ^

Without it, your line could become so unstable its unusable but with it on and being active on your line, not much point in playing CoD unless you like constant BS deaths.

 

I had interleaving for months, didn't cause me any problems in-game.

It just annoyed me by being there because it took age to work out why it was there.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#10
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM

I had interleaving for months, didn't cause me any problems in-game.

It just annoyed me by being there because it took age to work out why it was there.

 

It causes problems for me on IW. Rarely get BS deaths but when on interleaving, 50% of my deaths a match are BS.



#11
RedBull2k

RedBull2k

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM
  • LocationSouth Wales

fast path= if you receive an error'd packet you will drop it.

interleave = if you receive an error'd packet it attempts to fix it. 

 

how each scenario would play out in a game would be interesting.



#12
Victor-Yout

Victor-Yout

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Local time: 02:36 PM
  • LocationCologne, Germany
Do you know if you can ask your isp to turn interleave off? I have seen comments that they dont want to turn it off

#13
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM

fast path= if you receive an error'd packet you will drop it.

interleave = if you receive an error'd packet it attempts to fix it. 

 

how each scenario would play out in a game would be interesting.

 

When interleaving, it splits and rearranges your packets so on a game like CoD and packetsare your shots, you can see why it can cause problems.



#14
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM

Do you know if you can ask your isp to turn interleave off? I have seen comments that they dont want to turn it off

 

Its not your ISP that puts you on interleaving iirc. Its something in the cab... it detects too many errors, it auto puts you on interleaving.

Your ISP can't turn it off as its not them thats putting you on it.



#15
RedBull2k

RedBull2k

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Local time: 01:36 PM
  • LocationSouth Wales

just for some more information, who is your isp, what has your latency been like for the last year, or has it just recently started. if its recently just started then ask yourself whats changed in your home, or outside, do you have new equipment like new cables new filter,fridge,microwave,lights has there been any roadworks, the list can go on and on DLM is in control of your line characteristics and that has detected issues






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users