Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

R1 DumaOS Briefly Delayed


  • Please log in to reply
786 replies to this topic

#761
Sci0n

Sci0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM

For me the geo filter only works good for cod. in fortnite battlefield and most of the other games i getting kicked out of the lobby

 

it doesnt always work for that game - SEE

 

http://xboxdvr.com/g...video/55584894/
    



#762
xolhid

xolhid

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Local time: 04:14 AM

I own the trahs thing and it does not dominate lag or other peoples shit ass connection which allows them to have lag comp.

 

Also to find out if the thing is working you havbe to use a thirdparty software which we shouldnt have to do if you pay 250. the DumaOS is way over hyped

I asked if you had any coherent or logical reasoning. Basically all I heard was you don't know how to properly configure your home network. DumaOS is much cleaner than any other router software I have ever used. With that said I am in the same boat as everyone who is frustrated with the communication aspect of both Netduma and Netgear, but to say the router is trash without any coherent or logical reasoning is just.... well.... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. 



#763
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 3,057 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

I understand the role of the mods. My point is that the mods can use their voices to advocate for the members.  That's also a way of helping them.  

 

And I didn't say mutiny so don't go all Machiavellian.   As a group you can communicate to the company that's different than regular members. Or not, as you've obviously stated and done.   :(

 

I didn't say that I don't communicate my thoughts and opinions (or those of others) directly to Netduma.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#764
Foedus Gratiae

Foedus Gratiae

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Local time: 05:14 AM

Was the last communication all the way back in April? Is there any update as to when these "few weeks" will come to an end? Just curious...



#765
Sci0n

Sci0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM

I asked if you had any coherent or logical reasoning. Basically all I heard was you don't know how to properly configure your home network. DumaOS is much cleaner than any other router software I have ever used. With that said I am in the same boat as everyone who is frustrated with the communication aspect of both Netduma and Netgear, but to say the router is trash without any coherent or logical reasoning is just.... well.... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. 

 

I gave reason, look nd read my posts or are you just one of those zzzz guys who chat BS, see the whole 'don't know how to properly configure your home networ' LMFAO this arguement is void considering you can see it meant to be working but does dumaOS config for lag comp for other players, does it account for bad 10hz servers, does it account for not being able to use the geo filter when a game auto keeps connecting you to USA? no it dont so the product is trash as its sold on the basis of 'domintate lag' which it dont 90% of the time/

 

as I keep saying if the product was soooo good why aint it being live streamed and shown off its capabilities, coz in fact it cant. As you see other companys show off their products on videos or live streams.

 

Hell did you even look at the clips I provided? one had me playing a whole match with no graphic assets loaded, this was due to the geo filter being on, same went for opening my boxes on COD: BLOPS3 - once i took the filter off everything loaded in and I could open the boxes I got for the games I played.

 

Also why do you have to DL third party software (pingplotter) to see if the XR500 is even working? this should be built into the software or something like it and not have to DL it to see if its all working. Do you see other companys doing this?

 

If the DumaOS actually helped detect the best settings for you or advised you on the best ones for each game you played it would be good but after coming from the R1 to the XR500 I see no real advantage to justifie the £250 price tag or anyone to upgrade, yeah the OS is cleaner and made simple but it dont change the same issues the R1 had.

 

It really is clear as to why this team haven't updated the R1 as if they did there is no real reason to buy the XR500 at all.



#766
buddy love

buddy love

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Local time: 05:14 AM
  • LocationWellman College

I play mostly PC game like Overwatch. The geo filter doesn't really apply for that as far as I know.

You can find the XR500 for less than the advertised price of US$299. I received mine for about 25% less than that.

 

Not sure if i can mention the site of the deal that had it listed.



#767
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 3,057 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

does dumaOS config for lag comp for other players, does it account for bad 10hz servers.

 

one had me playing a whole match with no graphic assets loaded, this was due to the geo filter being on.

 

Also why do you have to DL third party software (pingplotter) to see if the XR500 is even working?

 

It's been common knowledge for years that the Netduma can't control the opposition's internet and it's common sense.

Lag compensation is necessary, without it you'd be shooting at thin air.

 

I've never heard anything like this before, graphical assets load from your Xbox not from the server.

 

You don't have to download third party software at all. We suggest ping plotter, to people that are having problems, as a way to perform a test on their line so that they can provide us with a visual representation of the state of their network connection. We do this so that we can offer advice to help solve any problems that people are having that is outside of the control of the Netduma. Good look getting that level of support from anyone else.

 

If you have an issue then create a support thread, you're off-topic, any further off-topic posts will be removed from this thread.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#768
N3CR0

N3CR0

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 482 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM

 does it account for bad 10hz servers,

 

 

If a game has bad servers, it has bad servers. No router is gonna fix bad servers and anyone who buys a Duma thinking it'll fix bad servers is a complete idiot tbh.

This person would clearly have no idea, even the basics of networking.



#769
Sci0n

Sci0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM

Clearly missed my point... idiot.

 

Not really I gave answer and you just used one thing to deflect everything else.

 

Anyway back on topic, the R1 update hasnt come out for only one reason and thats to push the sales of the XR500 as I can say It really is clear as to why this team haven't updated the R1 as if they did there is no real reason to buy the XR500 at all.



#770
Killhippie

Killhippie

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM
  • LocationUK

*
POPULAR

It really is clear as to why this team haven't updated the R1 as if they did there is no real reason to buy the XR500 at all.

I have not got an R1 but why would I buy an R1? You post makes no sense. R1 owners who are happy with the unit would want the update, new buyers would not buy the R1 probably based on hardware alone. After all who in 2018 is going to buy a router with a 600Mhz CPU and 128MB of ram, that has b/g/n only when 802.11ac is the norm now. The Netgear R7000 was released in 2014 with a 1Ghz Dual core CPU and 256MB ram and 128MB flash and 3x3:3 MIMO along with 802.11ac. Those specs are what people are looking for and the R7000 is still going strong even now, and able to to push 4K HDR/Dolby vision around around their homes wirelessly let alone the myriad of other devices that they own which also now need faster CPU's and greater bandwidth at faster speeds. Also it wont be long before 802.11ax is hitting the shelves, also WPA3 is coming and the new routers should get this with a firmware update it now seems, I wonder if the the R1 is capable of that upgrade? Yes I know Ethernet is still the best way to hook things up, but my 4K OLED AF8 can watch Netflix in 4K HDR over wifi with no buffering and I can still browse on my iPad or take a facetime call etc. I think the R1 would really struggle.

 I highly doubt they are trying to push the XR500, because if people look at the hardware specs for a modern LAN the R1 makes no sense. I would imagine if the R1 was made by a Asus/TP-Link/Netgear etc would it be EOL by now, as its not really powerful enough. Gamers also do a whole bunch of other stuff and using the R1 then buying an expensive router to put into AP mode does not make financial sense to many people these days. This is why I think the Netgear conspiracy is flawed. You can all go round in circles forever trying to guess about the last minute pull of DumaOS and I would agree the timing was not great in all honesty, but I think its just about hardware really nothing more. The R1 was released in 2014/2015 depending on country with under powered specs even then, the R7000 was also released at the same time with much better specs (1Ghz Dual core CPU and 256MB ram and 128MB flash and 3x3:3 MIMO along with 802.11ac) as I wrote above. S
o the R1 was tired at launch really, but the software made it so very special.

 At the end of the day the R1 is getting old and underpowered, so new buyers would not buy the R1. I imagine, if the XR500 did not exist an Asus AC5300 or Netgear R7800 would do for most as it handles other network needs easily as well as gaming for the majority. Looking on Amazon UK right now the R1 is not even available anymore and they are not sure when they will get stock again. It may be as simple as its just does not have the grunt or the Wi-Fi specs people would be looking for now.

So your argument "I can say It really is clear as to why this team haven't updated the R1 as if they did there is no real reason to buy the XR500 at all" I think is flawed, because the majority of new users including myself would not buy a 600Mhz 128mb ram b/g/n router no matter what software was on it in 2018. That's just my take. :)



#771
pvls

pvls

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:14 PM
I've contacted Netduma on Fb, and they confirmed DumaOS for R1 is still relevant. Yesterday on Twitter Netduma was hoping to get it soon


#772
BoilerPlate

BoilerPlate

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 1 posts
  • Local time: 03:14 AM

*
POPULAR

It's clear to me and others, that Sci0n has ZERO knowledge, and experience in what he's talking about. Seems that he's had a bad experience either with his router or really doesn't know how to set up or use routers well at all. He is only one and really his opinion doesn't matter. We can all guess that for him, PEBKAC.  I for one had the XR500 and had zero issues with it. I good friend of mine bought his shortly after I got mine and has been raving about it since. Others have had good experiences as well. Seen some issues in recent FW however. Nothing to the extreme that Sci0n claims. The XR500 is a solid router. Users experiencing FW problems, try downgrading to initial FW. This was a good version if your really having problems.

 

Now regarding the R1, I believe that the folks at NetDuma were nice to mention or  at least post about the R1 and what was happening. I think that they should have not made a date or time frame on when it would be made available or delay time frames,  as it seems to have set a bad precedence, as it seems to have gone past this and seems to be and probably will bite them in the rear. That one thing that most other router Mfrs don't do and make mistakes with is FW release time frames. They release when they release. It's up to them to make FW updates available and at there discretion, not under false presumption demands by users.

 

It would be nice to to use my R1 and see how it works with the OS. Right now, it's back in the box and not usable for my networking and gaming needs. Having multiple game consoles on line at the same time all playing the same game does not support OPEN NAT for CoD games which the R1 can't support at the moment. I'm waiting patiently hoping the new OS will. :rolleyes:



#773
buddy love

buddy love

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Local time: 05:14 AM
  • LocationWellman College

I've contacted Netduma on Fb, and they confirmed DumaOS for R1 is still relevant. Yesterday on Twitter Netduma was hoping to get it soon

Im not sure your going to get DumaOS on the R1. Sounds like a bit of a song and dance of "Yes you will get it, and get it soon, we hope. "

Not very popular. Im beginning to think that its not going to happen. Why else would they be so silent about whats happening ?



#774
SM961

SM961

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Local time: 02:14 AM
  • LocationUS - CA

Im not sure your going to get DumaOS on the R1. Sounds like a bit of a song and dance of "Yes you will get it, and get it soon, we hope. "

Not very popular. Im beginning to think that its not going to happen. Why else would they be so silent about whats happening ?

Sounds like it is almost ready, I hope it is not another few more weeks.


 

 

 17064580.png30181363.png


#775
Sci0n

Sci0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM

Sounds like it is almost ready, I hope it is not another few more weeks.

 

its really simple if they was doing this, they could easly update on whats going on, even they said we are trying to make sure it runs good and dont crash, yet they say the same thing over and over again, its been over 2 months and not one of them has took the balls to be honest or just say the R1 is old and underpowered,



#776
Ziltoid Racer

Ziltoid Racer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM
  • LocationRound the corner up the street on the left..

*
POPULAR

its really simple if they was doing this, they could easly update on whats going on, even they said we are trying to make sure it runs good and dont crash, yet they say the same thing over and over again, its been over 2 months and not one of them has took the balls to be honest or just say the R1 is old and underpowered,

 

there are those of us who do not agree with your assumption, saying it all the time does not make it true, from reading between the lines, i still have faith in Iain and the team.

 

you say it's real easy to update us on whats going on but look what happened last time they updated us, yes this 39 page monstrosity of a thread was born with yourself and others just lashing out because they updated you.

 

if i was Iain i would have put a block on any more updates too until it was time to release.



#777
patoche2520

patoche2520

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Local time: 11:14 AM

il faut clôturer ce sujet ,car il n’apporte que des frustrations .admettez votre déficience a appliquer cette mise a jour .votre silence est un pur manque de respect envers vos clients .

ce produit est mort parce qu il a été vendu a une autre société .

 

 

you have to close this topic because it has highlighted that frustrations. admit your disability to this layout. your silence is a lack of respect towards your customers.

this product is dead because it was sold to another company.



#778
Sci0n

Sci0n

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Local time: 10:14 AM

there are those of us who do not agree with your assumption, saying it all the time does not make it true, from reading between the lines, i still have faith in Iain and the team.

 

you say it's real easy to update us on whats going on but look what happened last time they updated us, yes this 39 page monstrosity of a thread was born with yourself and others just lashing out because they updated you.

 

if i was Iain i would have put a block on any more updates too until it was time to release.

 

Well they have damaged themslefs as a company as you only need to go on ebay to see how many R1 are being sold and how people dislike this company now for what they have done.

 

People are lashing out because they lied to their consumers and now have gone quite without even so much of an apology or even to say why they really delayed it.



#779
buddy love

buddy love

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Local time: 05:14 AM
  • LocationWellman College

there are those of us who do not agree with your assumption, saying it all the time does not make it true, from reading between the lines, i still have faith in Iain and the team.

 

you say it's real easy to update us on whats going on but look what happened last time they updated us, yes this 39 page monstrosity of a thread was born with yourself and others just lashing out because they updated you.

 

if i was Iain i would have put a block on any more updates too until it was time to release.

 

I wouldn't call it an assumption, Id call it an educated guess. The hardware isn't worthy of what DumaOS claims to be. I dont know what lines your talking about , its seems this is an issue.

 

Being easy is not a prerequisite for being up front with your customers. You cant promise things , even free things , or continually miss deadlines without people getting angry. Why? Your going to piss off your clientele and they wont have nice things to say about you or to you :) .

Sure,  they could block the topic. They could censor everything they can out there; but how would that look ? You do that if you don't want something revealed.

 

Lets not forget that the topic was created by the CEO who was announcing a delay in releasing an update, right at the deadline, for something as mundane as being able to flash back old firmware (hardly valid and not a legal obstacle btw),and  which was only going to be a few weeks.

 

Oh btw, it was only 22 pages before the topic became a month old. The thread size is a product of there own doing.



#780
raikun

raikun

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Local time: 04:14 AM

Wow, all posts that showed Iain's replies were deleted. Guess folks here assume this is the only source of information we have regarding R1. Pathetic.






2 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users