Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Optimizing for two consoles (One ps4 slower than other)


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Munch.Abe

Munch.Abe

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts
  • Local time: 09:19 PM

Hi 

 

So my brother & I both use our consoles (ps4) simultaneously. He plays SFV and I play R6 Siege; every time we do so one of us lags and the other has decent ping (in siege I get around 20-30 ping [there are ping spikes that make it difficult to play]) I understand SFV uses P2P, but it's also noticeable when streaming video. The quality goes down briefly, but then goes back up and this happens many times. 

 

Just wondering what could I possibly do to get far more consistency with the connection. 

 

The anti-buffer is at 65/65

both our consoles are prioritized

geo-filter is set to spectate for him and filter for myself

UPnP is on

Static ips

etc...

 

Perhaps it's something else.

 

Anyway thanks!

 



#2
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 2,864 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM

Hi, welcome to the forum!

 

Your settings seem great - if you've got an open NAT even better. What rang alarm bells for me is that you say you've got ping spikes - those are usually indicative of issues on your line / upstream equipment. That could be the best place to start improving your connection.

 

I'd recommend running a Pingplotter test (with and without the XR500 connected). That'll give you a clear indication of how bad your ping spikes / jitter is, and any other problems on your line. It could lead to you getting a new modem which can often fix these issues, or new Ethernet cables etc. I'd recommend posting the results here so we can break them down and give you advice! Thanks.


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#3
Munch.Abe

Munch.Abe

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts
  • Local time: 09:19 PM

Attached File  1.1.1.1.png   171.68KB   0 downloads

 

Attached File  pingplotter.jpg   723.11KB   0 downloads

 

Attached File  www.google.com.jpg   877.51KB   0 downloads

 

Thanks for the hasty reply! 

 

So I ran the pingplotter test with different targets, this was with the XR500 connected. Each test was about ~10 min.

 

I did check the upstream levels for my modem just to make sure and it was at optimal levels. Not too sure what to make of it. Though I do run only 150mb DL and considering how many devices I have it could very well be that, but again not too positive on that,

 

 



#4
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 803 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ
Could you prioritise just one console instead of both and see if it improves. Thanks

#5
Leeth4lee

Leeth4lee

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

I'm having a similar issue where my partner's console lags not the most tech savvy but I've checked a lot of the above mentioned things as well, I'm in Australia.



#6
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,161 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM

Hey, welcome to the forum Lee!

 

Could you give us a bit more information such as your bandwidth speeds, your QOS settings, whether either of the consoles are being Geo-Filtered and if they're connected via ethernet or wireless please.


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#7
Leeth4lee

Leeth4lee

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Hi Fraser,

 

Bandwidth Speeds are 100dl & 40mbps ul, QOS set to 70/70 and I tried both consoles geofiltered on a wired connection



#8
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 2,864 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM

Hi Fraser,

 

Bandwidth Speeds are 100dl & 40mbps ul, QOS set to 70/70 and I tried both consoles geofiltered on a wired connection

 

What precisely do you mean by lag in this case? Network lag in games is when you press a button and the action in-game is delayed, so the game feels sluggish. If other players are lagging you will also have bad hit-detection (on FPS games) and notice other players skipping / acting strangely. What game are you playing and what is your ping to the game?


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#9
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,161 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM

Hi Fraser,

 

Bandwidth Speeds are 100dl & 40mbps ul, QOS set to 70/70 and I tried both consoles geofiltered on a wired connection

 

Are you using 'Always' for Anti-Bufferbloat? Are you using Bandwidth Allocation and are you using Traffic Prioritization. 


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#10
Leeth4lee

Leeth4lee

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Hi Jack,

 

To answer your lag question sometimes scrolling through the console menus becomes delayed and other times its when playing in game it starts skipping and you see character models moving ahead like their in fast forward. I play mostly COD WW2 and my partner plays COD BO3 and we both noticed the same thing.

 

Hi Fraser,

 

I've tried always for Anti-Bufferbloat and I bandwith allocate and yes I use Traffic Prioritization.

 

I've had to revert back to my R1 setup to get our consoles working well.



#11
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 803 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ

Hi Jack,

 

To answer your lag question sometimes scrolling through the console menus becomes delayed and other times its when playing in game it starts skipping and you see character models moving ahead like their in fast forward. I play mostly COD WW2 and my partner plays COD BO3 and we both noticed the same thing.

 

Hi Fraser,

 

I've tried always for Anti-Bufferbloat and I bandwith allocate and yes I use Traffic Prioritization.

 

I've had to revert back to my R1 setup to get our consoles working well.

 

Hi Lee - on the fast forward issue, do you get this on the R1? It would be good to isolate where the problem is. It could be your line, it could be your monitor etc and it could of course be the XR500. It's just such a broad symptom that figuring out when it's fixed is a good start



#12
Leeth4lee

Leeth4lee

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

The only time I get it on the R1 is when I'm just using a general profile with generic settings so no strict mode, no real geo-filter, 100/100 UL/DL settings, but even then on the R1 it never is as bad as when I'm using the XR500.



#13
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 19,161 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM

Are ALL devices connected to the XR500? If any devices are connected to the ISP hub then the QoS will not be as effective. What is the average ping to the game for the both of you when you see the issue as shown by the Geo-Filter?


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/


#14
Leeth4lee

Leeth4lee

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

All my wired devices the ps4's are connected to the XR500, everything else runs wifi. I'll have to reconnect it to check. I don't run anything through the ISP hub.



#15
Netduma Admin

Netduma Admin

    Netduma Staff

  • Administrators
  • 803 posts
  • Local time: 05:19 AM
  • LocationNetduma HQ

Could you try reconnecting it please and let us know the pings you are getting when playing with it. 

 

It's worth also disabling IPv6 (found in >Settings >Advanced Settings >IPv6) in case it is causing random problems






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users