pppoe dhcp.

hi can someone please  help me with best setting for pppoe  (new to this )  i have dynamic ip 

and separate modem  thats been difficult  to achieve pppoe but good now connected 40/10   ping test results TERRABLE    

i have standard firwall on modem hg612 on ,, the pppoe in R1 is connected are there any Lan or DHCP

settings on address allocation i could use to secure further 

have ps4 wired to duma 

im new to routing networks .

i will take it you are in the UK. It all depends on what your isp is as to howq you set up the R1.

if you are bt infinity then your pppoe login is username:   [email protected] with a password of anything you like.

If you are sky then it is more complicated.

1 word of advice which is important...................................Do not turn off your hg612 or even disconnect it from the phone socket as doing so will trigger DLM unless you follow a certain protocol  and will impose restrictions on your ping aswell as speeds for a period of 9 - 11 days.  you can reboot or swap routers as often as you want, but not the modem!

7028103073.png  29642350.png

• Netduma Staff

hi can someone please  help me with best setting for pppoe  (new to this )  i have dynamic ip 

and separate modem  thats been difficult  to achieve pppoe but good now connected 40/10   ping test results TERRABLE    

i have standard firwall on modem hg612 on ,, the pppoe in R1 is connected are there any Lan or DHCP

settings on address allocation i could use to secure further 

have ps4 wired to duma 

im new to routing networks .

Please don't make multiple threads on similar issues - it makes it more difficult to keep track of what we've already tried to solve your issues :)

Big Dog has given some great advice above, though we do need to know which ISP you're with. BT are very easy when it comes to setting up PPPoE so hopefully you're with them, but do let us know.