Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

R7000 and Netduma


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
jeremyg237

jeremyg237

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:15 AM

My current config is: ISP>Cable Modem>R7000(Nighthawk)>Netduma>XBOX. I also want to keep it this way, mostly because of the parental controls etc on the Nighthawk. My question is why am I getting IPv6 on Nighthawk and IPv4 on XBOX(Netduma). What settings should I use to get IPv6. Also Netduma is in the DMZ and IPv6 is on in Netduma settings. Any help with this would be appreciated.



#2
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,997 posts
  • Local time: 05:15 AM

My current config is: ISP>Cable Modem>R7000(Nighthawk)>Netduma>XBOX. I also want to keep it this way, mostly because of the parental controls etc on the Nighthawk. My question is why am I getting IPv6 on Nighthawk and IPv4 on XBOX(Netduma). What settings should I use to get IPv6. Also Netduma is in the DMZ and IPv6 is on in Netduma settings. Any help with this would be appreciated.

 

You could swap the routers around and still get the parental controls to work as long as the nighthawk was in router mode.

 

Then open up all ports by doing this:

 

0v_0tRWRT_mkc_sF9Sz1zg.png

 

This would allow your xbox to get ipv6 addresses from the Netduma (which is completely useless anyway so I don't know why you want to do that) and still have the nighthawk for wifi and parental controls. It will assign it a different IP. So if your Netduma is default at 192.168.88.1 then the Nighthawk will go to 10.0.0.1 as to not interfere with each other.


mOtEQB0hTOKSD6fzpgIPNA.png


FiD7ooddSEefOwTYdjBkgQ.png


#3
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 2,748 posts
  • Local time: 10:15 AM

My current config is: ISP>Cable Modem>R7000(Nighthawk)>Netduma>XBOX. I also want to keep it this way, mostly because of the parental controls etc on the Nighthawk. My question is why am I getting IPv6 on Nighthawk and IPv4 on XBOX(Netduma). What settings should I use to get IPv6. Also Netduma is in the DMZ and IPv6 is on in Netduma settings. Any help with this would be appreciated.

 

Hi, welcome to the forum! The advice above is great, let us know if it works for you.


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#4
jeremyg237

jeremyg237

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:15 AM
https://www.extremet...-at-home-though

I read this article about IPv6. Also do not want to switch around routers.

#5
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 2,748 posts
  • Local time: 10:15 AM

I read this article about IPv6. Also do not want to switch around routers. 

 

Have you tried configuring IPv6 on your modem at all?


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#6
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Moderators
  • 2,997 posts
  • Local time: 05:15 AM

I read this article about IPv6. Also do not want to switch around routers. 

 

I read it too... I'm still waiting to see the benefits. Pretty sure this has been discussed here before too and nobody saw any difference on IPv6.


mOtEQB0hTOKSD6fzpgIPNA.png


FiD7ooddSEefOwTYdjBkgQ.png


#7
jeremyg237

jeremyg237

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 05:15 AM

The question I am asking more than anything is what are the best settings for the setup I have. 



#8
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 18,806 posts
  • Local time: 10:15 AM

Are there any devices connected to the Nighthawk? If so you won't be able to use the R1 Congestion Control and will lose out on a major feature that will improve your connection.


Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official R1 Support Times: 10am - 6pm BST



Official DumaOS/XR500 Support Times: 12pm - Midnight BST



Time Converter

If you're having Settings or Hardware issues with the XR500 please go here and login to get the number for Netgear's 24/7 support line: http://support.netgear.com/





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users