Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Dsl vs Optic Fibre (canada network)


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
kizvandutch

kizvandutch

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Local time: 12:29 PM

Is there a big difference with these two during gaming experience?



#2
II Z IE IR O II

II Z IE IR O II

    Senior Member

  • Clubhouse Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 699 posts
  • Local time: 10:29 AM
  • LocationReppin the *808* State \m/

Is there a big difference with these two during gaming experience?

I would prefer Fiber.  I'm thinking latency would be better thru fiber versus copper phone lines.  Especially if FPS is what you play


Console Platforms:

  • PS4
  • PS4 "Pro"
  • Xbox One
  • Xbox One X "Project Scorpio"

#3
kizvandutch

kizvandutch

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Local time: 12:29 PM

Thank you 



#4
JOE1305

JOE1305

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Local time: 09:29 PM

Is there a big difference with these two during gaming experience?

 

my experience is that i have more latency on fibre than on dsl. i saw a english youtuber he is playing on dsl and has no issues with blops 3. and im playing on fibre and its lagging like hell, even though with netduma. i called a technician from my isp provider because i have a lotta jitter according to pingplotter. i dont know when the technician is gonna come but i hope they can fix that quickly. i have this issue for 4 weeks now. i guess the network of my isp provider is overloaded thats why i have big issues with online gaming.



#5
titofuenla

titofuenla

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Local time: 09:29 PM

my experience is that i have more latency on fibre than on dsl. i saw a english youtuber he is playing on dsl and has no issues with blops 3. and im playing on fibre and its lagging like hell, even though with netduma. i called a technician from my isp provider because i have a lotta jitter according to pingplotter. i dont know when the technician is gonna come but i hope they can fix that quickly. i have this issue for 4 weeks now. i guess the network of my isp provider is overloaded thats why i have big issues with online gaming.

to me the same thing happens to me, I have fiber symmetric of 300 and the truth that the ping is pretty good at least in the tests that I perform and in the servers that the netduma offers me, but I have a lot of delay playing mainly in black ops3, Instead I see people play with copper and they are doing great.
 
I imagine that will be the famous bufferbloat, which I do not know how to solve it and the truth that despairs a little ...


#6
JOE1305

JOE1305

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Local time: 09:29 PM

 

to me the same thing happens to me, I have fiber symmetric of 300 and the truth that the ping is pretty good at least in the tests that I perform and in the servers that the netduma offers me, but I have a lot of delay playing mainly in black ops3, Instead I see people play with copper and they are doing great.
 
I imagine that will be the famous bufferbloat, which I do not know how to solve it and the truth that despairs a little ...

 

 

I did a lotta testing with the bufferbloat. I get A+ on several CC settings and I play on it, but doesnt help me at all. I dont know why I have over 30ms ping to a server I am only 600km away of it. I saw people in a blops 3 lobby with 3 bar connection beasting and owning the whole lobby. It must be the coding of the game I guess.



#7
titofuenla

titofuenla

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Local time: 09:29 PM

I did a lotta testing with the bufferbloat. I get A+ on several CC settings and I play on it, but doesnt help me at all. I dont know why I have over 30ms ping to a server I am only 600km away of it. I saw people in a blops 3 lobby with 3 bar connection beasting and owning the whole lobby. It must be the coding of the game I guess.

I with the cc also get to + but I lose an 85% of connection over my 300 megs and the truth that little difference I appreciate something, something better but not much.



#8
frank1144

frank1144

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 361 posts
  • Local time: 12:29 PM
  • LocationUS - CA

I did a lotta testing with the bufferbloat. I get A+ on several CC settings and I play on it, but doesnt help me at all. I dont know why I have over 30ms ping to a server I am only 600km away of it. I saw people in a blops 3 lobby with 3 bar connection beasting and owning the whole lobby. It must be the coding of the game I guess.

This game is dependent on the lobbies you get put into it. Some lobbies are good some are really bad, I've been playing in lobbies where I'm just playing against bullet sponges. Try a different server maybe it will help.
 

 

 17064580.png21963376.png


#9
JOE1305

JOE1305

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Local time: 09:29 PM

This game is dependent on the lobbies you get put into it. Some lobbies are good some are really bad, I've been playing in lobbies where I'm just playing against sponges. Try a different server maybe it will help.

 

Im living in Austria bro. I have three dedis near my region, one in germany, italy and poland. I tried them all. The only at least good server is in germany where I have 25 to 32 ping. But since 5 weeks my internet connection is really bad and it jumps to 80 and sometimes evn 200 ping on the same server. Thats why Im still waiting for the technician of my internet provider.



#10
II Z IE IR O II

II Z IE IR O II

    Senior Member

  • Clubhouse Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 699 posts
  • Local time: 10:29 AM
  • LocationReppin the *808* State \m/
Thru my findings....people that brings parties into lobbies messes up the whole dynamics of the game. Even though it's supposedly dedicated servers, it's still messes things up. Try do a test on BO3 and play FFA (being that parties are not allowed) and see what the results are. It may or may not work, but for me, I get way more better game play. I usually play alone though. I like to play alone because usually there's idiots that play team based games, never play the objectives. With FFA, you just shoot everything that moves and does not belong to you! LMAO! Thanks to the geo-filter on the R1, I've had many games that I went 30-0 and ended the game within 5 minutes!

Console Platforms:

  • PS4
  • PS4 "Pro"
  • Xbox One
  • Xbox One X "Project Scorpio"

#11
cranium2001

cranium2001

    Senior Member

  • Clubhouse Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 834 posts
  • Local time: 04:29 PM
  • LocationNew York

Thru my findings....people that brings parties into lobbies messes up the whole dynamics of the game. Even though it's supposedly dedicated servers, it's still messes things up. Try do a test on BO3 and play FFA (being that parties are not allowed) and see what the results are. It may or may not work, but for me, I get way more better game play. I usually play alone though. I like to play alone because usually there's idiots that play team based games, never play the objectives. With FFA, you just shoot everything that moves and does not belong to you! LMAO! Thanks to the geo-filter on the R1, I've had many games that I went 30-0 and ended the game within 5 minutes!

I agree with this statement 100%. I play with friends all the time. Some in my town with the same internet service, some just out of town with the same or worse and some guys from 200 miles to 2000 miles away. It's never the same.

I know when I'm playing wirh friends in different geographical locations, it can change my server location often. Most of us usually suffer one way or the other (and one game or all). It's really hard to keep up with a dozen different friends without adding them to the Duma. Imagine what a pain in the ass it is adding them all and managing the whole mess.😐

#12
frank1144

frank1144

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 361 posts
  • Local time: 12:29 PM
  • LocationUS - CA

I did a lotta testing with the bufferbloat. I get A+ on several CC settings and I play on it, but doesnt help me at all. I dont know why I have over 30ms ping to a server I am only 600km away of it. I saw people in a blops 3 lobby with 3 bar connection beasting and owning the whole lobby. It must be the coding of the game I guess.


Have you tried throttling?
 

 

 17064580.png21963376.png


#13
kizvandutch

kizvandutch

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Local time: 12:29 PM
I have but didn’t help much. Bf1 works better on reactive but call of duty is a continuous battle finding the best figures. I set mine at 100% with my ps4 untick to 80% and my gaming is consistent. Dsl reports is 30-37 ms. Ping plotter 30-38 ms. Servers I’m on are about 30-40ms. I’m thinking it must be my dsl connection or my building I live in.

#14
JOE1305

JOE1305

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Local time: 09:29 PM

Have you tried throttling?

 

Yes, I did bro. Nothing helps or changes at all.



#15
mountainping

mountainping

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Local time: 09:29 PM

 

to me the same thing happens to me, I have fiber symmetric of 300 and the truth that the ping is pretty good at least in the tests that I perform and in the servers that the netduma offers me, but I have a lot of delay playing mainly in black ops3, Instead I see people play with copper and they are doing great.
 
I imagine that will be the famous bufferbloat, which I do not know how to solve it and the truth that despairs a little ...

 

i mean, bud... you are in SPAIN .... keep that in mind lol... most likely getting connected to us or west/east coast servers.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users