Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

General questions about NetDuma

Netduma geofilter destiny

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
mountainping

mountainping

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Local time: 12:22 AM
Hello! Had my eye on the DumaR1 and it's awesome looking Firmware for a while though just can't quite justify the $200 price. Though I have some questions to further spark interest, maybe you folks can help with some of these general questions.
NOTE: Primary games Destiny 1 & 2 , then COD, then HALO5 || Consoles: PS4/XB1

How far can you zoom into map, possible to see the city that the host is in?

can the geo filter see who is in my private match lobby in games like destiny?

can you save any ping information to a server(say a bo3 server you had a great ping to)

How accurate is geo filter

Does the Duma and geo filter enabled add any additional latency to rtt? Because I have 2 routers. One adds no latency from the modems connection (open-wrt based router) and the netgear nighthawk 7000 adds 2-3ms of additional latency to the modems connection.

can the geo filter always run in background and will it degrade performance if so?

Does it work with games like uncharted 4?

Can I save blacklist and whitelist profiles?say if I happen to reset to factory defaults or upgrade to a new os

And how would I set it up with an existing router? I know to turn off dhcp on Duma and firewall, but what else could I do to ensure proficient use with it being behind another router

I know the geo filter can usually find who is host in the game, but does it ever let you know when YOU yourself are host of a match?

When you have teammates with you and want to search for a game in public matches, does ping assist work ? And how can I utilize geo filtering when my buddies are in my lobby

#2
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 2,710 posts
  • Local time: 11:22 PM
  • LocationLondon, UK

How far can you zoom into map, possible to see the city that the host is in?

can the geo filter see who is in my private match lobby in games like destiny?

can you save any ping information to a server(say a bo3 server you had a great ping to)

How accurate is geo filter

Does the Duma and geo filter enabled add any additional latency to rtt? Because I have 2 routers. One adds no latency from the modems connection (open-wrt based router) and the netgear nighthawk 7000 adds 2-3ms of additional latency to the modems connection.

can the geo filter always run in background and will it degrade performance if so?

Does it work with games like uncharted 4?

Can I save blacklist and whitelist profiles?say if I happen to reset to factory defaults or upgrade to a new os

And how would I set it up with an existing router? I know to turn off dhcp on Duma and firewall, but what else could I do to ensure proficient use with it being behind another router

I know the geo filter can usually find who is host in the game, but does it ever let you know when YOU yourself are host of a match?

When you have teammates with you and want to search for a game in public matches, does ping assist work ? And how can I utilize geo filtering when my buddies are in my lobby

 

You can zoom 8X. The cities are not named/marked on the map, just the country outlines. It would be a bad idea to filter to city size anyway, long waits for games or no games at all most likely.

 

I don't play Destiny but the Geo shows where people are in my private matches in CoD. But I already know where they are in the country anyway so I'm not how useful that is in private matches.

 

Not sure what you mean by 'save ping information to a server'. You can rate and name hosts.

 

How accurate in what respect? If you cut the entire world off with the Geo filter except for a relatively small place, like Ireland, then you won't get any hosts outside of Ireland. But if there's not many people playing there and no servers then you might be waiting a very long time to get a game.

 

I've not noticed any additional RTT, I ping the UK servers in about 8ms and the Western European ones in about 14ms.

 

The Geo filter only affects the device that you've applied it to. If you're gaming on a console and then turn it off to browse online with your laptop then the laptop will ignore it because it is applied to the console.

 

I don't have Uncharted 4 so don't know anything about it. Anti-Flood and Hyperlane will work obviously but I've no idea what the Geo would do with it.

 

The Blacklist/Whitelist is wiped by a factory reset. I think it's possible to save it to a profile but I can't honestly remember. Someone else will have to confirm that.

 

That's going to depend on the other router and your setup. I'd use the other router as an AP to remove the chance of any conflicts. If it's an ISP hub (that you're forced to use) then I'd put the Netduma in it's DMZ.

 

Yes, you know when you're the host. I play almost exclusively on dedis (and I don't watch the geo filter very often) so I can't remember how it tells you. I think it shows all players' markers as the same size (no single large circle), it's either that or all circles are large.

 

Yes. You whitelist your buddies so they don't get booted if they're outside of your search parameters and you need to be the party leader.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#3
Macca61

Macca61

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Local time: 11:22 PM
  • LocationWarrington

Yes, you know when you're the host. I play almost exclusively on dedis (and I don't watch the geo filter very often) so I can't remember how it tells you. I think it shows all players' markers as the same size (no single large circle), it's either that or all circles are large.

Whoever is host is indicated by a large circle, the other players will be smaller circles.

#4
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 1,753 posts
  • Local time: 11:22 PM

The answers above are great, I hope they clarify those questions for you. We actually tried it out with Uncharted 4 at some point, I don't believe it was incompatible but don't quote me on that. 

 

The Geo-filter doesn't decrease the performance of anything, you can have it running in the background. It's very accurate and getting better all the time - we update the 'cloud' often (which updates information such as server locations and which background servers are automatically allowed / denied). You can also zoom in enough to be able to tell which city servers are in - they aren't labelled but if you genuinely wanted to, you could compare it to Google Maps and it would be accurate enough.

 

Let us know if you have any more questions :)


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#5
mountainping

mountainping

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Local time: 12:22 AM
Awesome , thank you guys for the replies.

to further elaborate on a question someone had about my initial question, what I meant was how accurate is the GeoFilter at determining where the teammate or opponent is on the map? Like say if I'm playing someone who is in New York but it said that they're in New Jersey or something qworky like that. Is it pretty accurate in terms of "this person resides in this state" . We play a lot of private matches and it would be v useful to determine who would be the best host (by seeing where they are on the map and having them be the middle grounds for everyone to send packets to and from for lowest latency)

#6
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 1,753 posts
  • Local time: 11:22 PM

Awesome , thank you guys for the replies.

to further elaborate on a question someone had about my initial question, what I meant was how accurate is the GeoFilter at determining where the teammate or opponent is on the map? Like say if I'm playing someone who is in New York but it said that they're in New Jersey or something qworky like that. Is it pretty accurate in terms of "this person resides in this state" . We play a lot of private matches and it would be v useful to determine who would be the best host (by seeing where they are on the map and having them be the middle grounds for everyone to send packets to and from for lowest latency)

 

Yup it's accurate enough to determine information like that - it doesn't tell you explicitly so you'll have to rely on their placement on the map, but plenty of people narrow down their hosts using the Geo-filter.


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#7
mountainping

mountainping

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Local time: 12:22 AM
Sweet!

Does netduma firmware have MAC address filtering for wlan? (In other words wifi Mac filtering)

#8
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 2,710 posts
  • Local time: 11:22 PM
  • LocationLondon, UK

Sweet!

Does netduma firmware have MAC address filtering for wlan? (In other words wifi Mac filtering)

 

It doesn't have MAC filtering in the current firmware but the Duma OS (new firmware) is coming so hopefully it will be implemented in the future. I've put in a request for it myself.

 

But, as you have an additional router in your setup, you can easily set up that second router as an AP. Enable MAC filtering and disable the wifi on the Netduma.

I've done this myself and it works perfectly.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#9
bagsta69

bagsta69

    The Reverend.

  • Moderators
  • 2,777 posts
  • Local time: 11:22 PM
  • LocationThe Steel City

Awesome , thank you guys for the replies.

to further elaborate on a question someone had about my initial question, what I meant was how accurate is the GeoFilter at determining where the teammate or opponent is on the map? Like say if I'm playing someone who is in New York but it said that they're in New Jersey or something qworky like that. Is it pretty accurate in terms of "this person resides in this state" . We play a lot of private matches and it would be v useful to determine who would be the best host (by seeing where they are on the map and having them be the middle grounds for everyone to send packets to and from for lowest latency)

Myself and people I game with do this for deciding who will be host. Im in UK and have friends East and West coast USA, we usually choose player who is East coast USA of Mid USA to host. Works well. 


punishertag.jpg
You can easily gauge someone's level of IQ by how easily they get outraged on the internet.


#10
mountainping

mountainping

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Local time: 12:22 AM

It doesn't have MAC filtering in the current firmware but the Duma OS (new firmware) is coming so hopefully it will be implemented in the future. I've put in a request for it myself.

But, as you have an additional router in your setup, you can easily set up that second router as an AP. Enable MAC filtering and disable the wifi on the Netduma.
I've done this myself and it works perfectly.


I might try that!

LASTLY I've been reading around and heard about issues regarding the arris sb6183 modem and netduma r1 comparability . I see some reporting problems with the two combined. Anyone here able to touch on this? Has this been completely resolved? (The most mentioned about it I've seen has to do with the EEE, energy efficient Ethernet I believe)

#11
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 2,710 posts
  • Local time: 11:22 PM
  • LocationLondon, UK

I might try that!

LASTLY I've been reading around and heard about issues regarding the arris sb6183 modem and netduma r1 comparability . I see some reporting problems with the two combined. Anyone here able to touch on this? Has this been completely resolved? (The most mentioned about it I've seen has to do with the EEE, energy efficient Ethernet I believe)

 

I don't think those modem problems have been resolved but I don't honestly know.

You're best off speaking to MoDBoX, he has a thread about it http://forum.netduma...patible-modems/

He's done a lot of research/testing on this subject. I have literally zero experience with any stand alone modems other than the one I have right now.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#12
fuzzy clam

fuzzy clam

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 3,745 posts
  • Local time: 06:22 PM
  • LocationUS - Michigan

I might try that!

LASTLY I've been reading around and heard about issues regarding the arris sb6183 modem and netduma r1 comparability . I see some reporting problems with the two combined. Anyone here able to touch on this? Has this been completely resolved? (The most mentioned about it I've seen has to do with the EEE, energy efficient Ethernet I believe)

I would definitely check out MoD's thread on the modem situation as boom said he has done a lot of testing on a lot of different modems for cable ISP's and knows what he's talking about plus it's a good read.



frustrated I just got a new NETDUMA, and I can't connect, how do I get the password for the Wi-Fi

:P






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Netduma, geofilter, destiny

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users