Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
EmOmega

EmOmega

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Local time: 12:11 AM
  • LocationBoston, MA

I've been trying to specifically limit my PS4 vicariously through my laptop... 

 

So, I've been trying to find the sweet "buffer bloat" spot by testing my laptop in various settings... unfortunately I can't set a fixed speed for it... Capping my upload & download for the purposes of streaming isn't a viable option because I stream at 1080p @ 8Mbps. I have FIOS 300/300 and it would only make sense that I should be able to set apart something similar to a QOS. If I cap my UP & Down at 80% My Primary Router is the Netduma R1 and all the devices go either directly to the Netduma or connect via an 8-port switch to the Netduma. It seems like a poor design to not be able to set a finite speed, also I was considering having a 2Gbps line run... I noticed that the cap can go no lower than 10%... trying to achieve this prompts errors... According to the link on the bottom of the page, 11 months ago, you folks were going to release a feature that allowed this on the "next update"... I'm sure we many many many updates into the future... 

 

Not trying to blast anyone here... just trying to figure out how we CAN truly make this the BEST gaming Router in the World. At this point I'm simply better for the money with a Nighthawk... QOS seemed to work better for me when I was using it as I could use QOS on a per device basis... and it was set it and forget it... 

 

Attached File  DownloadNetdumaR1Config.JPG   95.3KB   1 downloads

Attached File  UploadNetdumaR1Config.JPG   94.64KB   1 downloads

 

http://forum.netduma...ecific-devices/



#2
bagsta69

bagsta69

    The Reverend.

  • Moderators
  • 2,523 posts
  • Local time: 04:11 AM
  • LocationThe Steel City

If I understand you correctly, untick share excess and give each device as much bandwidth as you want them to have. 


Posted Image
The Troll knelt down on the ground and yelled up to the heavens, "Why god? Why me?" and the thundering voice of God answered, There's just something about you that pisses me off.” Whilst I am a moderator on the Netduma forums everything I type is my own free thought and not representative of the Netduma blah blah blah blah sarcasm doesn't travel well on the internet blah blah blah bite me. !!!

#3
EmOmega

EmOmega

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Local time: 12:11 AM
  • LocationBoston, MA

No I don't think you understand correctly... unticking that check mark will still not have the desired effect... if I place my PS4 on 1... 1% of say 100%... that's 30Mbps... if you read the post I have FIOS 300/300. I want to set it to 5Mbps/5Mpbs. Manually. I found that when I uncheck that box for some reason... it removes the cap. 



#4
bagsta69

bagsta69

    The Reverend.

  • Moderators
  • 2,523 posts
  • Local time: 04:11 AM
  • LocationThe Steel City

OK, at great risk of already knowing the answer to this question, why would you want to drop it 5/5? (runs and hides behind a wall and prays the answer isn't anything to do with lag comp lol) :) ;)

After changing settings have you clicked on update button?


Posted Image
The Troll knelt down on the ground and yelled up to the heavens, "Why god? Why me?" and the thundering voice of God answered, There's just something about you that pisses me off.” Whilst I am a moderator on the Netduma forums everything I type is my own free thought and not representative of the Netduma blah blah blah blah sarcasm doesn't travel well on the internet blah blah blah bite me. !!!

#5
I Am MoD BoX

I Am MoD BoX

    Forum Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,911 posts
  • Local time: 12:11 AM

At 300/300 playing PS4 and streaming, even at 8 Mbps (which is high enough to get you banned from twitch), isn't nearly enough to make you lag. Why not just use the congestion control sliders? I'm not sure what you're trying to achieve here.

 

According to the link on the bottom of the page, 11 months ago, you folks were going to release a feature that allowed this on the "next update"... I'm sure we many many many updates into the future... 
 

 

The last update was February 2016.


If you would like a faster reply, please quote me so I am notified.


#6
EmOmega

EmOmega

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Local time: 12:11 AM
  • LocationBoston, MA

Well I don't use twitch so that's a moot point. I simply want to dictate the speeds my 30 devices get as opposed to the algorithm prioritization takes on. Irrespective what I'm trying to achieve, the end state is less important the function. I want my PS4 to have 5Mbps Up&Down. I want that to happen without having to cap my device lower than I need to. If Congestion Control sliders were end all be all, I'd be the only one with an original idea... but it seems there are many many others who have asked for this feature. 



#7
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 1,946 posts
  • Local time: 05:11 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

if I place my PS4 on 1... 1% of say 100%... that's 30Mbps... if you read the post I have FIOS 300/300. I want to set it to 5Mbps/5Mpbs.

 

Surely 1% of 300 is 3, not 30...

 

Set the PS4 to 2% or 3% Up and Down, uncheck 'Share Excess' (on both) and then adjust the Anti-Flood sliders until you hit 5mb.

 

It sounds like what you want to do is set the PS4 bandwidth at a certain amount, then exclude the PS4 from the 'Share Excess' functionality but still allow the other devices to share the excess. This is not currently possible but...

 

You can make suggestions in the 'suggestions' thread, it would be much more helpful than "I want" in an off-topic thread. Did you check if it's been written in there already and if not you wrote it in there?


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#8
bagsta69

bagsta69

    The Reverend.

  • Moderators
  • 2,523 posts
  • Local time: 04:11 AM
  • LocationThe Steel City

And don't forget to hit update distribution. :) Thats normally the reason I swear for five minutes before realising Ive forgotten. :)


Posted Image
The Troll knelt down on the ground and yelled up to the heavens, "Why god? Why me?" and the thundering voice of God answered, There's just something about you that pisses me off.” Whilst I am a moderator on the Netduma forums everything I type is my own free thought and not representative of the Netduma blah blah blah blah sarcasm doesn't travel well on the internet blah blah blah bite me. !!!

#9
EmOmega

EmOmega

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Local time: 12:11 AM
  • LocationBoston, MA

Surely 1% of 300 is 3, not 30...

 

Set the PS4 to 2% or 3% Up and Down, uncheck 'Share Excess' (on both) and then adjust the Anti-Flood sliders until you hit 5mb.

 

It sounds like what you want to do is set the PS4 bandwidth at a certain amount, then exclude the PS4 from the 'Share Excess' functionality but still allow the other devices to share the excess. This is not currently possible but...

 

You can make suggestions in the 'suggestions' thread, it would be much more helpful than "I want" in an off-topic thread. Did you check if it's been written in there already and if not you wrote it in there?

 

Yea fat fingers in the keypad. I'm sure what I want is to give a certain device a finite amount of bandwidth irrespective anything... was it already a thread? Yea... my message indicated that it was a thread 11 months ago... it was archived too... so it's something that clearly has been requested. 



#10
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 1,946 posts
  • Local time: 05:11 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

Yes, I'm sure it's on the suggestions thread already. I think I put it on there myself.

 

And there hasn't been an update for a while because DumaOS is being released soon.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#11
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 873 posts
  • Local time: 05:11 AM

Well I don't use twitch so that's a moot point. I simply want to dictate the speeds my 30 devices get as opposed to the algorithm prioritization takes on. Irrespective what I'm trying to achieve, the end state is less important the function. I want my PS4 to have 5Mbps Up&Down. I want that to happen without having to cap my device lower than I need to. If Congestion Control sliders were end all be all, I'd be the only one with an original idea... but it seems there are many many others who have asked for this feature. 

 

We're improving the Congestion Control features with DumaOS - as ColonicBoom stated above, we've been extremely busy implementing new features in DumaOS; working on upgrades for our current interface is pointless when every user is going to receive a free software overhaul soon. We have taken note of people who have requested features like this. Even if this feature isn't released with the launch of DumaOS, it will be far easier to upgrade the interface in the future given the way the new interface will work.

 

So in summary, one day this feature will be something we offer :)


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#12
EmOmega

EmOmega

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Local time: 12:11 AM
  • LocationBoston, MA

Good to know. Any speculation on the release of DumaOS? 



#13
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 873 posts
  • Local time: 05:11 AM

Good to know. Any speculation on the release of DumaOS? 

 

We're working as quickly as possible, and we should be releasing an update on the development very soon.


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Download Speeds, Netduma Speed, Prioritization, Netduma Fixed Speed, Netduma Feature, bufferbloat, streaming, gaming router, QOS, nighthawk

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users