Got a new PC and can't connect to to internet through the NET duma

• Netduma Staff

Hi,

Basically, for christmas I got a PC, but I can't connect to the internet with it when using the netduma. If I plug it into my old router it lets me connect but not with the R1. I don't know if I am being really stupid or doing something really dumb, but I have checked everything and I can't connect when using the R1.

The only thing that happens is that the bit that says Local Area Connection in the network connections manger, it flashes on to the internet. Sometimes it works for 10-20 seconds but then it stops working again.

Has this happened to anyone else and if it did how did you fix it?

Thanks

Guest Netduma Luke

I'm not technical like the other guys so these suggestions could be useless:

1. On windows you are asked on a new connection what type it is. I set it to 'home' or something like that. Did you see this when you first plugged it in?

2. You didn't somehow set a static IP when you first plugged the PC into the old router?

3. Are you using the same cable to compare the connection to each router?

4. Does the light come on above the port on the netduma router that you are plugged into?

5. Have you reset both the PC and your R1?

6. Can you connect to the R1 wirelessly?

• Netduma Staff

I'm not technical like the other guys so these suggestions could be useless:

1. On windows you are asked on a new connection what type it is. I set it to 'home' or something like that. Did you see this when you first plugged it in?

2. You didn't somehow set a static IP when you first plugged the PC into the old router?

3. Are you using the same cable to compare the connection to each router?

4. Does the light come on above the port on the netduma router that you are plugged into?

5. Have you reset both the PC and your R1?

6. Can you connect to the R1 wirelessly?

Ok,

1. I think it did. At least it did for my old router but I can't remember if it did for the R1