Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Help needed with Bridge Mode


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
Stretch

Stretch

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM
  • LocationDublin Ireland

Hi All.

 

I need some help with a problem I am experiencing.

 

I am an Xbox one user and am having a probem where any game invites i send to friends are not being delivered. I can receive game invites but cant send any.

After a lot of testing and searching the web I found a post from Microsoft stating that I may experience this problem if I am using 2 modems/routers/gateways. (Please excuse me if I am not using the correct terminology here)

 

I can connect to Xbox live and play online games, I have an open NAT, but just can't send game or party invites.

 

I am based in Dublin Ireland. MY ISP is Eir and I have a fiber optic cable delivering the service direct to my house.

 

I have the standard issued Eir E-Fibre router, which I believe is a Zyxel unit, connected to this I have my Netduma which runs all my devices in my house.

 

My problem is I don't know how to put the Zyxel into bridge mode.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks in advance

 

Stretch



#2
Buck Nasssty

Buck Nasssty

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 2,545 posts
  • Local time: 05:03 AM
  • LocationGA-USA
Some of the other gents may have some ideas but if you have an open NAT I would not worry too much about placing the Zyxel in bridge mode.
Try this. When you are gaming, zoom out of the geofilter to get a wider view of the world. It may be that your chat server is being blocked by the Netduma. You should see some locks popping up on the geofilter.
There will be id's tied to these servers and the servers may need to be whitelisted.

11196879.png


#3
Stretch

Stretch

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM
  • LocationDublin Ireland

Thanks for the Reply Buck Nasssty. I will try this later this evening when I have some friends online.

 

"You should see some locks popping up on the geofilter.
There will be id's tied to these servers and the servers may need to be whitelisted"

 

Not really sure about this, I have never seen these locks before, or whitelisted any of the servers. I will look under the tutorials for instructions.       



#4
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 13,335 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM

It is quite possible your friends are being blocked by the Geo-filter, check here on how to add them to your allow list: http://support.netdu...y-with-friends-


Technical support:

 

Optimal Settings Guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc. 

FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.

Knowledge Base - Main link to the Knowledge Base, for everything else please search here or on the forum. 

Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord

 


#5
Stretch

Stretch

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM
  • LocationDublin Ireland

Thanks Fraser, will try this later and let you know the results



#6
Stretch

Stretch

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM
  • LocationDublin Ireland

Hey Fraser,

Just double checking a few points:

  1. Once I have followed the steps you've shown in your link, and I have put my friends connection to 100% quality and he appears in the green box of the deny and allow, I assume I then re-tick the enable check box,  and will be able to play with newly approved friend from then on
  2. I assume I need to do this for all friends I play online with regularly
  3. If invited to join a party already in progress would I have to carry out the above steps for the party host, or is this process only for people I invite into parties.

 

Many thanks in advance for you help

 

Stretch



#7
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 13,335 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM

Hey Fraser,

Just double checking a few points:

  1. Once I have followed the steps you've shown in your link, and I have put my friends connection to 100% quality and he appears in the green box of the deny and allow, I assume I then re-tick the enable check box,  and will be able to play with newly approved friend from then on
  2. I assume I need to do this for all friends I play online with regularly
  3. If invited to join a party already in progress would I have to carry out the above steps for the party host, or is this process only for people I invite into parties.

 

Many thanks in advance for you help

 

Stretch

 

1. Yes!

2. Yes! Otherwise they could get blocked, do keep in mind that if any of them change IPs that you will need to add them again.

3. Yes you would have to do it for the party leader otherwise you wouldn't be able to join.


Technical support:

 

Optimal Settings Guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc. 

FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.

Knowledge Base - Main link to the Knowledge Base, for everything else please search here or on the forum. 

Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord

 


#8
Stretch

Stretch

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM
  • LocationDublin Ireland

Thanks Fraser



#9
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 744 posts
  • Local time: 09:03 AM

Thanks Fraser

 

Hey, just wanted to know if you managed to get it into bridge mode? Feel free to ask if you have any more questions about it.


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users