Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Who do you have your broadband with ? (UK Guys)


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#1
TurboBaron

TurboBaron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNorth West England

So I'm with Virgin Media on their VIVID 200 service (details here:  https://my.virginmed...bb_thresholds),and I've been pondering on whether to drop down a notch and go for one of their cheaper services.

 

I'm pretty lucky in that I've got fibre optic coming into the house (no idea what happens beyond the cabinet though) so I'm not sure about switching to another supplier, but it got me thinking about what everyone else's experiences are like.

 

Over to you guys !  ;)


6689567882.png

 

23041215.png


#2
Macca61

Macca61

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationWarrington
I used to be on Virgin, but switched to BT earlier in the year. Two reasons 1. Cost and 2 more stable line for gaming.

When I was on Virgin, I had terrible spikes when playing on COD it was worse than a politician on a lie detector , but I personally find it a lot better on BT's broadband.

#3
Dillinger

Dillinger

    [Duma] Armorer

  • Moderators
  • 2,625 posts
  • Local time: 04:41 PM
  • LocationLoading...

From the multiple tests (Ping Plotter) and multiple threads that I have seen, it would appear that BT has a much better and more stable backbone than Virgin.

 

As with any of the available ISP's - they are only as good as the initial construction quality and maintenance program servicing them, but on average BT has yielded better results for gaming purposes as Macca61 indicated above.

 

Good luck and let us know how you get on!


Las Vegas - Early R1 Adopter | CoD Player | 1911 aficionado
 

"Improvement usually means doing something we have never done before" Shigeo Shingo


#4
bagsta69

bagsta69

    The Reverend.

  • Moderators
  • 2,796 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationThe Steel City

BT has a much more stable line by all accounts.


punishertag.jpg
You can easily gauge someone's level of IQ by how easily they get outraged on the internet.


#5
TurboBaron

TurboBaron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNorth West England

I must admit I've not done too much looking under the hood in respect of the quality of our connection, if anything getting the R1 encouraged me to take more interest.  I'm going to download ping plotter now, it'll be interesting to see what it has to say about our connection.


6689567882.png

 

23041215.png


#6
Dillinger

Dillinger

    [Duma] Armorer

  • Moderators
  • 2,625 posts
  • Local time: 04:41 PM
  • LocationLoading...

I worked in Cable TV for about 15 years, started as an installer and worked all the way through the ranks. I had wired my own home, and I even I was surprised at the overall LACK of quality in the CATV line feeding my current place.

 

I ended up switching to an ADSL line for my gaming room because the line quality was just better.  

 

You may be surprised to see what you are up against outside of your home before those 1's and 0's ever reach the other player.  I definitely was surprised when I reviewed my findings.

 

YMMV,

 

JD


Las Vegas - Early R1 Adopter | CoD Player | 1911 aficionado
 

"Improvement usually means doing something we have never done before" Shigeo Shingo


#7
Sleightofdean

Sleightofdean

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationS Yorkshire, UK

Been with Sky Fibre for about 5 years now never had an issue with service or connection. I don't have access to Virgin here but if i did decide to change i would most likely go for BT.


5945311907.png


#8
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 2,844 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

I was with Virgin for years until they pushed us onto a 'better' package (mandatory rollout where I am), they couldn't sort the connection out to be stable enough for gaming so I had to switch to a VDSL line.

 

It's better now than it ever was, even back in the 'good old days'.

I didn't have FTTH with Virgin though, just to the cab down the road.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#9
TurboBaron

TurboBaron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNorth West England

OK so I've downloaded ping plotter and it looks like I've got some learning to do about how to use it !

 

Just spoken to Virgin and apparently I'm out of contract so could make a switch elsewhere if I wanted to.  Might be interesting to see what special offers are available.


6689567882.png

 

23041215.png


#10
Zennon

Zennon

    Forum Legend

  • Administrators
  • 6,573 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationUK

OK so I've downloaded ping plotter and it looks like I've got some learning to do about how to use it !

 

 

Type twitter.com into the target window let it run for a while at peak time without using the internet.

 

Press file, save image when done.

 

On the forum press more reply options next to the post button and upload the plot for us to judge :)



#11
Homie

Homie

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Not from UK, but I'm switching to rocket fiber 10Gbps next month https://rocketfiber.com

 

NetDUMA probably ain't even supporting that, so I would have to say goodbye to the amazing device. Definitely the best thing I have purchased in a long time.



#12
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 16,772 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM

Not from UK, but I'm switching to rocket fiber 10Gbps next month https://rocketfiber.com

 

NetDUMA probably ain't even supporting that, so I would have to say goodbye to the amazing device. Definitely the best thing I have purchased in a long time.

 

giphy.gif


Technical support:
 
Optimal Settings Guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc. 
Knowledge Base - All of our guides/suggestions on the Netduma router. Anything you want to know is likely answered here. 
Current firmware version (1.03.6i) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.
 
Any other issues please make a new topic on the forum. Please do not create multiple topics/PMs/Social Media posts. Keep it to one topic on the forum, it will be answered. Thank you.

 

Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official Support Times: 10am - 6pm GMT

World Clock

#13
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 2,844 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

Not from UK, but I'm switching to rocket fiber 10Gbps next month https://rocketfiber.com

 

NetDUMA probably ain't even supporting that, so I would have to say goodbye to the amazing device. Definitely the best thing I have purchased in a long time.

 

You can still keep it hooked up for the Geo.

And to have any pests access the internet through it so that you can assert your dominance over them with 'punishment blocking', etc.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#14
TurboBaron

TurboBaron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNorth West England

OK so I did the ping plotter thing but I'm having a nightmare trying to upload a jpeg to the forum, what gives ?


6689567882.png

 

23041215.png


#15
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 2,844 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

OK so I did the ping plotter thing but I'm having a nightmare trying to upload a jpeg to the forum, what gives ?

 

Click 'more reply options', then you'll see the 'choose file' and 'attach file' options.

 

Or upload it to a hosting site, imgur or something like that.


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#16
TurboBaron

TurboBaron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNorth West England

OK done, here's what Ping Plotter had to say:

 

http://imgur.com/a/LOTG9


6689567882.png

 

23041215.png


#17
ColonicBoom

ColonicBoom

    mum said i'm special

  • Moderators
  • 2,844 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationLondon, UK

Is that straight from the Superhub, in modem mode, with an ethernet cable?


I like cats and cheese and CoD. Don't mix them up, it'll ruin your lunch and your Xbox. And your cat.

#18
TurboBaron

TurboBaron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNorth West England

That was from the R1 with the Superhub in modem mode with an ethernet cable.  Why is it not good news doc ?


6689567882.png

 

23041215.png


#19
bagsta69

bagsta69

    The Reverend.

  • Moderators
  • 2,796 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationThe Steel City
It doesn't look to bad but to get a better picture you want to run it for a few hours, right click on the graph and select 6 hours or something. That graph is only showing ten minutes.

punishertag.jpg
You can easily gauge someone's level of IQ by how easily they get outraged on the internet.


#20
TurboBaron

TurboBaron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Local time: 12:41 AM
  • LocationNorth West England

It doesn't look to bad but to get a better picture you want to run it for a few hours, right click on the graph and select 6 hours or something. That graph is only showing ten minutes.

 

Ah ok I'll give it another go, I was sure I'd read someone talk about running it for a short period of time.  I'll set it off again tomorrow evening and resubmit the photo.


6689567882.png

 

23041215.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users