Jump to content

Welcome to Netduma Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Looking to Buy NetDuma

Netduma New buyer

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1
Carcarn

Carcarn

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 1 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 PM

Hey guys, i been looking for a new gaming router for about a week now and i have come to the 2 final decisions
the Linksys wrt1900ac and the NetDuma R1
all i really want to know is what will getting the NetDuma benefit me over having the Linksys?
i have 2 ps4 connections in the house and a pc. The main issue im having right now is when both ps4's are on, one will recieve and open nat and the other a moderate.
so will this router fix this issue as well as not messing around with my pc speeds and gaming on there?

Really appreciate any help you guys can give!!

 



#2
thegaurdian1

thegaurdian1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 PM
  • LocationHaverhill, MA

I honestly do not know if the R1 router would make both of your PS4's NAT TYPE: OPEN.  If that is the sole reason you are buying a R1 router than no don't buy it.  NAT TYPE: Type 2 is fine on PS4's.  Also if you are looking to purchase NetDuma R1 router in general, I would wait on that as well.  I've had the router for a while now and have not seemed to figure out the benefits of it........


5766536523.png5661499.png


#3
KayOneX-24

KayOneX-24

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 AM
  • LocationMecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Germany

My advice is don't.  Wait and see if OS 2.0 comes out and even runs on this hardware.  Read man.  Look at all the plague of issues form firmware to firmware.  personally I'd like to see them fix one fimrware first before moving to another buggy "NEW" STATE OF THE ART"  firmware with more .... BUGS.   Tolerences stack and we're getting full effect right now.  The only people it works for are the UK guys and the AUS guys, that's because it's Iains buddies. period.  

 

Claims and assertions. Where's the proof for your thesis ?

Hmmm... That's weird, because I live in Germany and my Netduma works perfectly. What do you say now ? Germany is not related to the UK or Australia, but my device works as intended. Your theory doesn't seem to sum up for me, but I'm probably just and exception, huh?

But I know what tolerance is and that's why I accept your opinion, even if mine doesn't agree with you.

Have a nice evening, though.  :)


KayOneX-24.png

BF4 PS4

KayOneX24.png

BF4 XBONE

xXxKayOneX24xXx.png

BF4 PC

KayOneX24.png

BFH XBONE

 

5854458.png 6720009.png

 

...Listening to the music of Rocco Hunt while playing...


#4
Slipknot31286sic6

Slipknot31286sic6

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
He means it works if u don't try to port forward or modify the router. If u jus plug in and do what they recommend. It works. But problem is with congestion control aka buffer bloat. Doesn't work for everyone. Port forward doesn't work as it makes router inoperable. Upnp doesn't work good enough and Its a security flaw. At the moment geo filter only works with strict off, PA off. Miles radius only works atm on Infinite warfare. Hopefully they will fix this. Cuz it's worthless if ping isn't working as that's what fixes lag. Distance doesn't mean much except from u to server. Which I'm next to a server, most players aren't.
It's impossible to get 2 ps4 open nat type for cod. You are warned if that's only reason you are buying this router... U can not, it's first ps4 turned on gets open nat.

#5
Netduma Jack

Netduma Jack

    Graphic Artist

  • Administrators
  • 1,581 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 AM

Hey guys, i been looking for a new gaming router for about a week now and i have come to the 2 final decisions
the Linksys wrt1900ac and the NetDuma R1
all i really want to know is what will getting the NetDuma benefit me over having the Linksys?
i have 2 ps4 connections in the house and a pc. The main issue im having right now is when both ps4's are on, one will recieve and open nat and the other a moderate.
so will this router fix this issue as well as not messing around with my pc speeds and gaming on there?

Really appreciate any help you guys can give!!

 

Hey, welcome to the forum! People have had success with UPnP allowing both of their consoles to get an open NAT, so I'm sure we could get that working for you. The congestion control features will prevent speed from being lost on your PC while you're using other devices, and you'll be able to prioritise whatever devices you want over others.

 

In terms of gaming, we're the only router in the world that can cater for changing game servers, give you the best possible host connection, show you who's playing and give you control over your game connection. You can read about our features here: https://netduma.com/features/


Technical support:

 

Fine tuning guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc.
FAQ - Includes: How to play with friends using the Geo-filter, I can't access the router control panel, Wifi keeps dropping out etc.
Wiki - Main link to the Wiki, for everything else please search here or on the forum.
Current firmware version (1.03.6) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.

 

Any other issues please make a new thread on the forum, thank you  :)

 

Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Twitch - Instagram - Steam Group - Discord


#6
fuzzy clam

fuzzy clam

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 3,714 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 PM
  • LocationUS - Michigan

Welcome to the forums



frustrated I just got a new NETDUMA, and I can't connect, how do I get the password for the Wi-Fi

:P


#7
XSXS

XSXS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Local time: 06:51 PM
  • LocationAZ

I think it depends on what games you are playing.  I have had the Netduma for a couple of weeks and have noticed a few things that I am trying to get resolved.  So far Destiny PVP lag is worse than with my asus router and my speeds have gone down 10 meg on DL. WiFi is also suffering.

 

I am presently researching everything about the Netduma and I really do not think the Netduma provides much of an advantage for games that run off a dedicated server.  It is only beneficial if you are playing a game that is P2P, like COD.  

 

However with this being said I am still trying to optimize this router so my opinion could change but as right now unless you play a ton of COD I would go with a high end router.

 

If I can't resolve some of these issues, I think I will use my Asus as my main router and put the Netduma in the DMZ.  When I play P2P games I will use the Netduma and everything else I will use the Asus.  I will do this my switching the CAT5 cables to the router each time, hassle I know but may be worth it.



#8
iAmMoDBoX

iAmMoDBoX

    argument-jedi-mindshitter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,730 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 PM

I think it depends on what games you are playing.  I have had the Netduma for a couple of weeks and have noticed a few things that I am trying to get resolved.  So far Destiny PVP lag is worse than with my asus router and my speeds have gone down 10 meg on DL. WiFi is also suffering.

 

I am presently researching everything about the Netduma and I really do not think the Netduma provides much of an advantage for games that run off a dedicated server.  It is only beneficial if you are playing a game that is P2P, like COD.  

 

However with this being said I am still trying to optimize this router so my opinion could change but as right now unless you play a ton of COD I would go with a high end router.

 

If I can't resolve some of these issues, I think I will use my Asus as my main router and put the Netduma in the DMZ.  When I play P2P games I will use the Netduma and everything else I will use the Asus.  I will do this my switching the CAT5 cables to the router each time, hassle I know but may be worth it.

 

Sounds like you just have some things setup wrong. Also cod uses dedicated servers, and the Netduma helps you play on servers that you want to play on.

 

For wifi that is faster than the router can handle, you can use your old router as an access point just for wifi.


If you would like a faster reply, please quote me.


Posted Image


#9
XSXS

XSXS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Local time: 06:51 PM
  • LocationAZ
Pretty sure i have everything set up right, as I'm ocd and a network nerd so to speak. I do use my asus as an AP and since my lan is slower so is my wifi on the asus. I thought they still use listen servers? However im still tweaking it.

#10
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 16,306 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 AM

I think it depends on what games you are playing.  I have had the Netduma for a couple of weeks and have noticed a few things that I am trying to get resolved.  So far Destiny PVP lag is worse than with my asus router and my speeds have gone down 10 meg on DL. WiFi is also suffering.

 

I am presently researching everything about the Netduma and I really do not think the Netduma provides much of an advantage for games that run off a dedicated server.  It is only beneficial if you are playing a game that is P2P, like COD.  

 

However with this being said I am still trying to optimize this router so my opinion could change but as right now unless you play a ton of COD I would go with a high end router.

 

If I can't resolve some of these issues, I think I will use my Asus as my main router and put the Netduma in the DMZ.  When I play P2P games I will use the Netduma and everything else I will use the Asus.  I will do this my switching the CAT5 cables to the router each time, hassle I know but may be worth it.

 

Lag should definitely not be worse with the Duma. Recently people have been saying they've been getting booted in Destiny so I've made some test clouds to try (Un tick bleeding edge and auto cloud then choose these manual numbers):

  • 28
  • 26
  • 28 

Strict off, ~1000km radius.

 

For speeds:

  • Preeemptive (under 60mbps) Reactive (over 60mbps) Algorithm
  • 100% anti-flood
  • Share excess enabled
  • Reset device prioritisation & apply
  • Disable IPv6 in WAN, LAN & misc
  • Disable deep packet in misc
  • Enable turbo mode (if over 120mbps)
  • Enable super turbo mode (if over 300mbps, needs turbo on as well)
  • Ensure the ethernet cables you're using connecting the R1 to hub & R1 to PC are Cat5e+/can handle your speeds.
  • Do a wired speed test from a PC

WiFi use PSK2 security mode and use a WiFi analyser to find the least congested channel in your area and change to that.

 

It's definitely useful for dedicated server games as you can force different dedicated servers and ensure they're in your region.


Technical support:
 
Optimal Settings Guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc. 
Knowledge Base - All of our guides/suggestions on the Netduma router. Anything you want to know is likely answered here. 
Current firmware version (1.03.6i) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.
 
Any other issues please make a new topic on the forum. Please do not create multiple topics/PMs/Social Media posts. Keep it to one topic on the forum, it will be answered. Thank you.

 

Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official Support Times: 10am - 6pm GMT

World Clock

#11
XSXS

XSXS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Local time: 06:51 PM
  • LocationAZ

Fraser,

 

I have pretty much tried all these recommendations already except the following:

  • Have not tried the new cloud settings yet and my radius is set at 4200 KM
  • Anti floods is usually set at 85% DL and 90% UL to get the best buffer bloat rating on DLC reports A+, A, A+.
  • I have not disabled IPV6.

Why does disabling IPV6 help? My ISP offers IPV6 and is in the process of getting rid of IPV4 all together.  Xbox is supposed to work better with IPV6.  Also IPV6 should resolve all NAT issues as every device will have a unique IP address.

My Asus handled IPV6 with no issues.  I am just trying to understand why Netduma recommends disabling this?  As I have read that recommendation before on these forums and wiki.

 

Thanks for all your help!



#12
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 16,306 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 AM

I don't believe it is entirely needed in order to achieve your speeds depending on what they are. In fact I believe the auto speed settings for over 60mbps don't even disable these. Most people currently do not have the ability to use IPv6 and as such you don't need it so it is fine to disable. It is my understanding that most of the internet is run on IPv4 addresses but browsers search for IPv6 addresses first and then the IPv4 address in which case there is a slight delay if the site/server is not using IPv6 so disabling IPv6 can speed up tests etc. 

 

That is a huge radius, I would recommend ~1000km radius. I wouldn't worry about bufferbloat. The idea of anti-flood is to ensure that other devices in your home do not cause you to lag. At 70/70 this does not occur.


Technical support:
 
Optimal Settings Guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc. 
Knowledge Base - All of our guides/suggestions on the Netduma router. Anything you want to know is likely answered here. 
Current firmware version (1.03.6i) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.
 
Any other issues please make a new topic on the forum. Please do not create multiple topics/PMs/Social Media posts. Keep it to one topic on the forum, it will be answered. Thank you.

 

Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official Support Times: 10am - 6pm GMT

World Clock

#13
XSXS

XSXS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Local time: 06:51 PM
  • LocationAZ

When I set my radius that small I experienced more booting.  I'll try a few more tweaks but  my house hold plays different games at the same time and I do not have anyone else experience connection issues so I am going to leave the cloud in auto.



#14
PharmDawgg

PharmDawgg

    Forum Legend

  • Moderators
  • 2,876 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 PM
  • LocationGA-USA

When I set my radius that small I experienced more booting.  I'll try a few more tweaks but  my house hold plays different games at the same time and I do not have anyone else experience connection issues so I am going to leave the cloud in auto.

Please Xsxs if you have a support issue please post in the support location in the forum your issues.  This was originally an introductory/possible buyer post by Carcarn and somehow it has become a support post for Xsxs.  It would be greatly appreciated. 



#15
XSXS

XSXS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Local time: 06:51 PM
  • LocationAZ
Buck,
Tell fraser that, he is the one that went off topic first, lol. However i am already posting in the correct thread. I just did not want to ignore fraser reply to my experience with the netduma router in this thread.

#16
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 16,306 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 AM

That's fine, just do make a thread and we can go through everything. May help to include the screenshots from here: http://support.netdu...t-on-the-forum-


Technical support:
 
Optimal Settings Guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc. 
Knowledge Base - All of our guides/suggestions on the Netduma router. Anything you want to know is likely answered here. 
Current firmware version (1.03.6i) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.
 
Any other issues please make a new topic on the forum. Please do not create multiple topics/PMs/Social Media posts. Keep it to one topic on the forum, it will be answered. Thank you.

 

Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official Support Times: 10am - 6pm GMT

World Clock

#17
Newguyidkanything999

Newguyidkanything999

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 AM

I don't recommend this router at all. Sooooooo many issues in my opinion



#18
bagsta69

bagsta69

    The Reverend.

  • Moderators
  • 2,774 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 AM
  • LocationThe Steel City

I don't recommend this router at all. Sooooooo many issues in my opinion


Please try not to hijack other people's threads, I have moved your other post to the general support section where you may get some support.

punishertag.jpg
You can easily gauge someone's level of IQ by how easily they get outraged on the internet.


#19
Netduma Fraser

Netduma Fraser

    Tech & Customer Support

  • Administrators
  • 16,306 posts
  • Local time: 01:51 AM

I don't recommend this router at all. Sooooooo many issues in my opinion

 

You made one post for your issue & didn't respond to the replies then proceeded to bash us on Twitter & Amazon. We will be happy to help should you wish to engage our support. I will now close this thread.


Technical support:
 
Optimal Settings Guide - How to set up your Netduma R1 quickly with optimum settings. Includes: How to get your full speeds, opening your NAT & Geo-filter settings etc. 
Knowledge Base - All of our guides/suggestions on the Netduma router. Anything you want to know is likely answered here. 
Current firmware version (1.03.6i) - If you are on anything below this, follow the instructions carefully to upgrade.
 
Any other issues please make a new topic on the forum. Please do not create multiple topics/PMs/Social Media posts. Keep it to one topic on the forum, it will be answered. Thank you.

 

Twitter/Facebook/YouTube/Twitch/Instagram/Steam Group/Discord

 

Official Support Times: 10am - 6pm GMT

World Clock




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users