Total noob, yep its coming and ill need help.

Howdy Gang

So the duma is almost here and i know nothing about it.

Random AW rage decision to give anything a try.

So how do i set this thing up?

Currently using a Asus dsl68r for everything but also have a spare Billion 7800nxl aswell that i can use.

Internet not very good here 8mb/1mb adsl (on a good day but i do not loose packets that often) and a normal phone outlet on the wall.

Fibre 100/40 is coming but not soon enough :angry:

Any help appreciated.

Guest Netduma_Iain

Firstly thanks for purchasing, secondly I LOVE the fact you call it the duma, I'm going to start calling it the duma as well :)

I don't know about the specific models, but basically you'll have a router or modem that actually connects to the wall. You need to keep using that, I'll refer to that as the modem. Based on that your setup will be:

Wall <-> Modem <-> R1

After you've got it set-up come here and we can advise you further on optimising the connection. In most scenarios its optimum out the box.

Many thanks for the replies

Both the devices i have are modem/routers so im thinking ill bridge the 7800nxl and use the Duma as a the router, simple enough i guess.

abc123 im guessing dhcp off on the Asus too help with nat or auto ip issues?

I know nothing about the duma, does it have wifi aswell?

Many thanks for the replies

Both the devices i have are modem/routers so im thinking ill bridge the 7800nxl and use the Duma as a the router, simple enough i guess.

abc123 im guessing dhcp off on the Asus too help with nat or auto ip issues?

I know nothing about the duma, does it have wifi aswell?

Yes, the netduma has wifi built-in...but only wireless N

So if you actually have wireless AC devices (newer smart phones, MacBook Pro) then you might want to use the Asus as your wireless so you get wireless AC.

But since the netduma would be the main router you don't want another router handing out IP addresses on the same network.